Artists’ Biographies / TRIO 303

trio303_web

Erin Flynn sees contemporary dance a perfect vehicle for revealing the more ephemeral aspects of the human condition. Trained in Winnipeg, Erin has pursued a career as a dancer and choreographer in Montreal since 2001. Erin has performed the works of other choreographers across Quebec, Canada and Europe and presented her own works in Winnipeg, Regina, Ottawa and Toronto. In Montreal, her choreography has been performed at Studio 303, Tangente, Le Gesu, as a part of Les Printemps de la Danse and the festivals Vue sur la Relève, OFF.T.A and TransAtlantique. Next May, Erin’s piece The Shallow End will be presented in Tokyo and Seoul thanks to Tangente who will also be premiering her new piece, From ashes comes the day, as a part of its 2011 season.

Based equally in Toronto and Montreal, Susanna Hood, Artistic Director of hum, is a compelling and virtuosic performer in dance and music. For over a decade, she has been synthesizing voice and movement into a dynamic practice through which she creates intimate, raw and sensual performance work. She has performed the works of various Canadian choreographers, composers, and filmmakers (including Tedd Robinson, John Oswald, Nilan Perera, and Phillip Barker) and has performed widely as an improviser both in dance and music. Her choreography, compositions, and interdisciplinary collaborations have been presented locally, nationally, and internationally on stage and film since 1991. Awards include the 1998 K.M. Hunter Emerging Artists Award in Dance and the 2006 Dora Mavor Moore Award for Outstanding Performance in Dance for She’s gone away. Most recently Susanna was the recipient of the Canada Council’s Victor Martin Lynch-Staunton award for Outstanding Achievement in the field of Dance. www.humdansoundart.ca

Sasha Ivanochko is a Toronto based dancer, teacher, choreographer and Artistic Director of blackandblue dance projects, a dance theatre company she founded in 2005. A “lot’s behind the eyes” (The Dance Insider) kind of performer, she has graced the stage in the works of many of Canada’s most critically acclaimed choreographers, and is currently best known for her intense and intuitive performances from within her company’s repertoire. Considered the “mover and shaker” (The Globe and Mail) of her generation, her work is tightly crafted, gutsy, experimental and marked by its unflinching directness and emotional honesty. An inspired and thoughtful teacher, Ivanochko has recently developed a training methodology that supports the learning of her signature movement style. Ivanochko is 5 time Dora Mavor Moore Nominee, a two-time Chalmers Fellowship Recipient, has received the K.M. Hunter Award and was the subject of Bravo’s Freedom Series Documentary. www.blackandbluedanceprojects.ca

Biographies des artistes / TRIO 303

trio303_web

Chorégraphe et interprète montréalaise, Erin Flynn puise son inspiration dans le son et l’image trouvés dans l’environnement urbain. Originaire de Winnipeg, Erin a dansé à travers le Canada, de même qu’en France, en Allemagne et aux Pays-Bas dans le travail d’autres chorégraphes et a présenté ses propres travaux à Winnipeg, Regina, Ottawa et Toronto. À Montréal ces pièces ont été présenter chez Tangente, Studio 303, Le Gésu, les Maisons de la Cultures, par La 2ème Porte à Gauche et les festivals Vue sur la Relève, OFF.T.A. et TransAtlantique ; et grâce a Tangente Erin va présenter sa pièce The Shallow End à Tokyo et Séoul en mai de 2011.

Basée autant à Toronto qu’à Montréal, Susanna Hood, Directrice artistique de hum, est une virtuose incontournable dans le monde de la danse et de la musique. Pour plus d’une décennie, elle s’enfonce dans un travail de synthèse de voix et mouvement dans une pratique dynamique avec laquelle elle crée des performances intimes, sensuelles, et à l’état brut. Après un séjour au Toronto Dance Theatre de 1991 à 1995, elle devient artiste indépendante et interprète des œuvres de divers chorégraphes, compositeurs, et cinéastes canadiens (incluant Tedd Robinson, John Oswald, Nilan Perera, et Phillip Barker), et se produit à de nombreuses reprises dans des spectacles d’improvisation en danse et en musique. Depuis 1991, ses collaborations et ses propres chorégraphies et compositions musicales ont été présentées un peu partout à Toronto ainsi qu’à l’échelle nationale et internationale tant sur scène qu’à l’écran. Lauréate de l’un des deux K.M. Hunter Emerging Artists Awards in Dance à l’automne 1998, Susanna Hood recevait en juin 2006 un prix Dora-Mavor-Moore pour l’excellence de sa performance dans la création de hum, She’s gone away (Elle s’est en allée). Elle a reçu dernièrement le Prix Victor Martyn Lynch-Staunton 2008 pour une mi-carrière artistique remarquable en danse. www.humdansoundart.ca

Sasha Ivanochko est danseuse, professeure, chorégraphe et directrice artistique de blackandblue dance projects, une compagnie de danse/théâtre de Toronto qu’elle a fondé en 2005. Interprète visionnaire selon le Dance Insider, elle a interprété des œuvres de nombreux chorégraphes canadiens acclamés par la critique et est actuellement plus connue pour ses performances intenses et intuitives au sein du répertoire de sa compagnie. Artiste « novatrice et influente » de sa génération selon le Globe and Mail, ses œuvres sont finement ciselées, audacieuses, expérimentales et marquées d’une franchise inébranlable et d’une honnêtement émotionnelle. Professeure attentive et inspirée, Sasha a récemment développé une méthode d’entraînement qui adopte son style de mouvement. Elle s’est retrouvée en nomination pour un prix Dora Mavor Moore à cinq reprises, est récipiendaire de deux bourses Chalmers, a reçu un prix K.M. Hunter et a été le sujet de la série documentaire Freedom sur la chaine Bravo. www.blackandbluedanceprojects.ca