QUEER PERFORMANCE CAMP

28890531286_03e62830d6_z

August 18-27, 2017
$20-$30 per workshop or $40-$60 for full day workshops (sliding scale)**
$560-$850 for the full 10 days (sliding scale, including 3 days of food and housing)**

Workshops will primarily be offered in English. Please contact us if you require whisper translation to French.
Artists of all generations, cultural backgrounds and practices are encouraged to participate. Priority space is offered to people with marginalized identities
For more information or to register (limited space): info@studio303.ca

**If you want to attend the 3-day retreat August 22-23-24 or if you need financial aide, please fill in this application form before July 15th, 2017.

Queer Performance Camp offers a rare place and time to explore, create, perform and network in a queer-dominant environment. Open to ALL artists (regardless of sexual orientation), daytime workshops provide multiple tools and approaches to performance creation, facilitated by Elder, mid-career and emerging queer artist guides. In addition, some studio space is available for residencies and participant-led activities. New this year, on top of Studio 303’s program, a collective creation workshop will take place at a meditation retreat near St-Jérome (1.5 hours away), and there will be performances at La Chapelle Scènes Contemporaines, MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels), as well as at GENDER B(L)ENDER #37, open mic queer.

► CONSULT THE SHOWS SCHEDULE

This project aims to create new ways to connect, grow and build community, while supporting the development of queer artists. It is an intentional and inclusive space for taking risks, making mistakes, pushing our practices, being critical and self-aware, and having fun, while remaining open and compassionate.

Letters of invitation are available to those wishing to apply for travel or professional development funding from their province, municipality or from the Canada Council.

Here is the complete workshop program. Thanks to the Caisse de la Culture Desjardins for supporting this project!

06_JORDAN_ARSENEAULT

Fear Drag with Jordan Arseneault

Friday, Aug. 18th, 2017 – 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (break from 12:30-1:30)

This social practice workshop employs elements of theatre of the oppressed to catalyse dialogue and group performance on themes of relational anxieties and fears. Presented in numerous Concordia University Fine Arts classes as well as in community settings since 2010, Fear Drag is an environment where we’ll listen to and enact participants’ fears and anxieties around inherited ideologies, state violence and queer social justice. While all forms of gender expression are welcome in Fear Drag, this is not a workshop on the performance style of being a drag queen/king. It is on the notion of drag as disrupting the norm, as fertile ground to explore themes and identities that are not experientially our own. This workshop’s specific focus will be to explore both the shortcomings and transformational potential of political art practice. What kind of performance interventions can be made on the stage that have relevance off stage? What are strategies for overcoming audience cynicism (of any age) and our own inertia (in our current age)? How can we affect political change with performance? We will consider ways of engaging audiences/interlocutors who may not already think what we think, who may not already believe that performance and queer social justice can have an impact on the greater political landscape.Rooted in a cathartic approach to group performance, the outcome of the 5-hour workshop (in two parts, with snack breaks) will be short performance pieces produced by participants in smaller groups that will be shown and reflected on from an outlook of appreciative inquiry. Participants of all backgrounds and interests are welcome.

Jordan Arseneault is a gay male bilingual artist of mixed Acadian extraction. Active in Montréal’s independent performance scene since 2008, Jordan employs song, spoken word, cello, drag, humour and movement in his staged work, which is often improvisational. He has been developing the social practice workshop Fear Drag since 2010. Both his performances and participative workshops address issues of criminalization, stigma, mental health, HIV/AIDS, addiction, biculturalism, inherited trauma, queerness and community. He was a Studio 303 artist in residence for 2015-2016.

Ulysse del Drago

Ulysse del Drago

Vogue for virgins with Gerard Reyes

Saturday, Aug. 19th – 10:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Vogue is a dance style that was created by Black and Latino gay men and trans women in the Harlem ballroom scene many decades ago. This beginner level workshop is geared towards vogue virgins (i.e. people with no vogue experience) and will tap into the sensuality and sexuality of this dance form. You will learn the five elements of vogue fem: catwalk, hands, spins + dips, duckwalk and floor performance. All of this will be in a spirit of fun, creativity and support. Open to all genders and physical abilities.

Gerard Reyes is a dancer, choreographer and teacher living and working between Montreal and Berlin. He studied vogue in New York with a number of internationally-renowned master teachers including Javier Ninja (FKA Twigs; Madonna Superbowl), Danielle Polanco (Beyoncé), Jose Xtravaganza (“Paris Is Burning”; Madonna “Vogue”; “Blonde Ambition”), Amazon Leiomy (Balmain X H&M fashion show), Archie Burnett (”Check Your Body At The Door”) and Alex Mugler (Rihanna “ANTI”). Gerard has taught voguing workshops in North America and Europe, and teaches regularly at Flying Steps in Berlin and at various studios in Montreal (www.gerardxreyes.com/classes).

ladysin1

Giving Birth to Yourself: Revolutionary Queer Storytelling
with Kai Cheng Thom

Saturday, Aug. 19th – 1:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

This intense, immersive oral performance workshop draws upon the spoken word and oral storytelling traditions, as well as meditation, ritual, and Theatre of the Oppressed in order to help participants unlock their inner rhythms and artistic impulses. We engage critically with colonial frameworks of narrative and poetics, and delve into our relationships with colonization and ancestry.

Kai Cheng Thom is a fiery writer performer spoken word artist and drag-dance sensation. Lady Sin and her alter-egos have traveled across Canada to bring poetic performances to pages and stages from her hometown of Vancouver to her current haunts in Montreal. Kai Cheng has been widely published as an essayist and poet, and is currently a Feature Writer at Everyday Feminism. She also holds Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in social work from McGill University and is the co-founder of Monster Academy Montreal a radical mental health initiative for youth.

Nikol Mikus

Nikol Mikus

Durational Performance: When Will It End? With Dayna McLeod

Sunday, Aug. 20th – 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (break from 12:30-1:30)

This 2-part workshop guides participants through durational performance art creation informed by queer feminist practices. Durational performance art features time as the focus of a work and is fundamental to the experience for both performer and audience. This workshop will encourage the development of a solo and/or collaborative durational piece that uses the body and a task this body can perform. We will explore varying conditions of durational work including but not limited to: interactive audience participation, having an audience approach you, generating a safe-space to perform in, communicating intent without speaking or instruction, knowing when the work is over, asking for help and support, and practicing self-care before, during and after.

Dayna McLeod is a performance and video artist. Her work uses humour, and capitalizes on exploiting the body’s social and material conditions using cabaret, duration, single channel video, and installation practices. Dayna’s latest project, Uterine Concert Hall is a sound-based, vaginal media project that features her uterus as the scene of the performance and the instrument of its production. www.daynarama.com

Michael De Angelis

Michael De Angelis

The Depth of Surfaces: Generative Writing/Directing with Tina Satter

Monday, Aug. 21st – 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (break from 12:30-1:30)

Tina Satter is in Montréal thanks to her residency at the CEAD. La Chapelle will present her work Ghost Rings on August 26th.
New York City-based playwright, director, and Half Straddle Artistic Director Tina Satter leads writing, performance, and directorial exercises and techniques for those interested in live performance including actors, writers, directors, and those just starting to make performance. The workshop allows participants to generate new performance writing, and to learn writing and directorial methods to infuse projects already in process. A collaborative and open environment allows participants to delve into unexpected, non-psychological, and gestural ways to generate writing and directing—and be in conversation with Tina on her work with Half Straddle.

Tina Satter is a writer, director, and Artistic Director of the Brooklyn-based, Obie-winning theater company Half Straddle which is dedicated to making work about and featuring female-identified and/or queer performers. She is a recipient of a 2016 Foundation for Contemporary Arts Award and a 2014 Doris Duke Impact Artist Award. She’s written and directed 9 full-length shows with Half Straddle that have premiered in New York City and presented at festivals and theaters in Europe, Japan, and Australia. Her recent project, Here I Go, pt. 2 of You was the curation of lectures by a range of queer artists including Sarah Schulman, Branden Jacob-Jenkins, Jess Barbagallo, Ariel Goldberg, and more. Tina has been a visiting artist at a number of colleges—and visiting playwriting professor at the University of Michigan in 2015/16. Tina attended Mac Wellman’s graduate playwriting program at Brooklyn College. Her first collection of plays, Seagull (Thinking of you), was published by 53rd State Press in 2014.

Creative retreat in the Laurientians


Josh Haggarty

Josh Haggarty

Mountain Voice with Gein Wong

Aug. 22-24 (Tues-Thurs) – 10:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

What does it feel like to vocalise and sing with our ancestors? On Turtle Island, Two-Spirited people held important roles in community. We were leaders, healers and spiritual people until waves of colonization changed things. Around the world there are similar stories for Queer/Trans/Gender Non Conforming people. After so many generations of being silenced, what do our voices sound like when connect with our various histories. These vocal and movement workshops will help us explore what our voices sound like and how our bodies move when we look for connection to our ancestors.

Gein Wong is an interdisciplinary director, curator, poet, composer and video artist of First Nations and Asian descent who is Two-Spirited and Queer. Her works focus on obvious things like gender, class and race, as well as things a little less obvious like gender, class and race. She sits on the Board of Directors of the Toronto Arts Council and received the 2014 Ken McDougall Director’s Award and the 2015 CCGSD Canadian Queer/Two Spirited Youth Role Model Lifetime Achievement Award. She is a member of the Indigenous eco-restoration group, Naadmaagit Ki, and a member of the Indigenous Two-Spirit drum group, Balance Bringers. Gein Wong is Artistic Director of Eventual Ashes, co-founder of the community arts organisation, Asian Arts Freedom School, and a co-owner of Glad Day Bookshop.

DMIC andrew Tay monster 3

Temporary Spectacle Community with Andrew Tay

August 22-24 (Tues-Thurs) – 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

During this workshop we will create a structure which will allow us to perform and be together – An imagined playground for different and divergent practices to exist side by side. We will question false truths about making collaborative work which include: the fairness of democracy, the necessity to compromise, and established hierarchies of skill and labor. Our “work” will be a party, a deep conversation, a meditation, a magic show and a revolt!

“Through meticulous distortion and transformation of the body Andrew’s work seeks to mutate sacred actions into the banal, while paradoxically elevating the every day into something of extreme importance. Playful, colorful and charming while also being turbulent and iconoclastic, Andrew’s work explores alternative working methods for frictions within spirituality, healing and worship.”

Andrew Tay is a hybrid form of performer, choreographer and performance curator based in Montreal. In 2005 he co-founded (with collaborator Sasha Kleinplatz) the company Wants&Needs danse. Since then, the company has produced the wildly popular performance events Piss in the Pool and Short&Sweet which take place in non-traditional venues throughout the city.In August 2016, Tay received the Risk and Innovation Award from the Summerworks Performance Festival for his work Fame Praver / Eating. In 2017, he joined the team of the O Vertigo Centre for Creation as Artistic Curator. Tay actively thinks about community, irreverence and resistance in both his performance and curatorial practices.


Pamela Hart

Sing out with Pamela Hart

Sunday, Aug. 27th / 10:00 p.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Learn to find the power in your voice and sing in harmony working with songs written by queer artists with queer themed content.

Pamela Hart is a vocalist, sound technician, and multi-instrumentalist who is currently directing and arranging music for The Forever Chorus. She has played in noise, pop, psych, heavy/doom, classical and jazz projects and has toured extensively as a musician and sound technician. The Forever Chorus is an all voices chorus that sings songs written by women and gender non binary/trans artists with a focus on creating a safer space for people to learn to sing in harmony, develop their vocal skills and perform.

Potluck

Sunday, August 27th
A potluck for participants and anyone who want to come to process, check-in and say goodbye!


Registration – Please contact (514) 393-3771 or at info@studio303.ca.

Payments – By check, cash, Paypal or credit card on the phone or in person (1$ to 2$ fee)

Reimbursement policy– No reimbursement possible without a good reason (ex: sickness or injury).

Studio accessibility – Consult this page for detailed information.

CAMP DE PERFORMANCE QUEER

28890531286_03e62830d6_z18 août au 27 août 2017
20$-30$ par atelier ou 40$-60$ pour une journée entière d’atelier (selon vos moyens)*

Les ateliers seront principalement en anglais contactez-nous si vous avez besoin d’une traduction chuchotée en français.
Artistes de toutes les générations, origines culturelles et de diverses pratiques sont invités à participer. La priorité sera donnée aux personnes avec des identités marginalisées.
Pour plus d’informations ou pour vous inscrire (places limitées) : info@studio303.ca

**La retraite créative se tiendra finalement à Montréal au Studio 303**

Le Camp de Performance Queer offre une rare opportunité d’explorer, de créer, de performer et de réseauter dans un safe space où queer est la culture dominante. Ouvert à TOUS.TES les artistes (quelle que soit l’orientation sexuelle), une série d’ateliers aura lieu en journée afin d’offrir outils et approches en création de performance (art audio, Fear Drag, acrobaties), animés par des artistes queer ainé.es, mi-carrière et émergent.es. Nous organisons une Table Longue autour de la question de tournées le samedi 26 août de 13 h à 15 h et des performances seront présentées à La Chapelle Scènes Contemporaines, au MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) ainsi qu’au GENDER B(L)ENDER #37, open mic queer au Studio 303.

► CONSULTEZ L’HORAIRE DES PERFORMANCES

Ce projet souhaite créer de nouvelles façon d’entrer en contact, de grandir et de batir la communauté en supportant le développement d’artistes queer. C’est un espace inclusif conçu pour prendre des risques, faire des erreurs, pousser nos pratiques, être critique et consicent de soi-même et s’amuser tout en restant ouvert et empathique.

Voici le programme complet des ateliers. Merci à la Caisse de la Culture de soutenir ce projet !
Et merci à ces organismes qui ont offert des bourses d’études :
McGill Union for Gender Empowerment
The Institute for Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies
Media@McGill
QPIRG McGill


06_JORDAN_ARSENEAULT

Le « Drag » de la peur (Fear drag) avec Jordan Arseneault

Vendredi 18 août – 10 h à 16 h (pause de 12 h 30 à 13 h 30) @ Studio 303

Cet atelier en pratique sociale utilise des éléments du Théâtre de l’Opprimé afin de catalyser le dialogue et la performance de groupe sur les thèmes d’anxiété relationnelle et peurs. Présenté de nombreuses fois pour des classes à la Faculté des Beaux-Arts de l’Université Concordia ainsi que dans des cadres communautaires depuis 2010, Fear Drag est un environnement où nous écouterons et joueront avec les peurs et anxiété des participant.es, autour des idéologies héritées, la violence étatique et la justice sociale queer. Tant bien que toute forme d’expression du genre est bienvenue, Fear Drag n’est pas un atelier de performance drag queen/king à proprement parler. L’atelier portera plutôt sur la notion de drags en tant que perturbation à la norme, un sol fertile pour explorer thèmes et identités qui ne sont pas les nôtres par expérience. Le point central de cet atelier sera d’explorer la pratique artistique politiquement engagée tant dans ses défauts que dans son potentiel de transformation. Quel genre d’interventions performatives peuvent être faites sur scène, tout en étant pertinentes hors-scène. Quelles sont les stratégies pour surpasser le cynisme du public (de tout âge) et notre propre inertie (propre à notre temps)? Comment pouvons-nous engager le changement politique via la performance? Nous considérerons les façons d’impliquer le public/les interlocuteurs, qui peuvent ne pas penser comme nous, qui peuvent ne pas encore croire que la performance et la justice sociale queer peuvent avoir un impact dans un paysage politique plus large. Inscrit dans une approche cathartique de la performance de groupe, le résultat de cet atelier de 5h (en deux parties avec des pauses pour des collations) sera une courte pièce de performances produites par les participant.es en petits groupes qui sera présentée et fera le reflet d’un point de vue et d’une recherche de reconnaissance. Participant.es de tout milieu et intéret sont les bienvenus!

Artiste gay bilingue d’origine acadienne (en partie), Jordan Arseneault est actif sur la scène indépendante de la performance à Montréal depuis 2008. Il utilise le chant, le conte, le violoncelle, le drag, l’humour et le mouvement dans son œuvre scénique, souvent basée sur l’improvisation. Il développe depuis 2010 l’atelier de pratique socialement engagée Fear Drag dans lequel il explore, tout comme dans sa création performative, les enjeux tels que la criminalisation, la stigmatisation, la santé mentale, le VIH/sida, la toxicomanie, le biculturalisme, le traumatisme hérité, l’allosexualité (queerness) et la communauté en soi. Il était artiste en résidence au Studio 303 en 2015-16.

Ulysse del Drago

Ulysse del Drago

VOGUE POUR LES VIERGES AVEC GERARD REYES

Samedi 19 août – 10 h à 12 h 30 @ Studio 303

Atelier débutant de vogue pour les vierges (c.-à-d. sans expérience de vogue). Vous pourrez apprendre et pratiquer les cinq éléments du vogue fem: catwalk, mains, tours + dips, duckwalk et performance au sol. Puiser dans votre imagination et votre sexualité en améliorant vos poses et votre musicalité, le tout dans un esprit de fun et un environnement accueillant. Ouvert à tous les genres et habiletés physiques.

Le style de danse Vogue fut créé par des hommes gays noirs et latinos et des femmes trans dans la mouvance du vogue balls à Harlem il y quelques décennies de cela. Cet atelier débutant est destiné aux vierges (c.-à-d. sans expérience de vogue) et puisera dans la sensualité et la sexualité de cette forme de danse. Vous apprendrez les cinq éléments du vogue fem : catwalk, mains, tours + dips, duckwalk et performance au sol, le tout dans un esprit de fun et un environnement créatif et accueillant. Ouvert à tous les genres et habiletés physiques.

Gerard Reyes est chorégraphe, interprète et professeur de danse qui vit entre Montréal et Berlin. Il a étudié le voguing avec plusieurs professeur.es de renommée mondiale, notamment Javier Ninja (FKA Twigs; Madonna Superbowl), Danielle Polanco (Beyoncé), Jose Xtravaganza (“Paris Is Burning”; Madonna “Vogue”; « Blonde Ambition”), Amazon Leiomy (défilé Balmain X H&M), Archie Burnett (”Check Your Body At The Door”, ImPulsTanz) et Alex Mugler (Rihanna “ANTI”). Gerard Reyes a mené des ateliers de voguing en Amérique du Nord ainsi qu’en Europe, et enseigne régulièrement à Flying Steps à​ ​Berlin​ ​et dans divers studios à Montréal​ ​(www.gerardxreyes.com/classes)​​.​

ladysin1

Se donner naissance : Narration révolutionnaire queer avec Kai Cheng Thom

Samedi 19 août – 13 h 30 à 16 h @ Studio 303

Cet atelier intensif et immersif sur la performance orale vous guidera dans l’univers du spoken word et de la tradition d’histoire orale ainsi que dans la méditation, le rituel, et le Théâtre des oppressés, dans le but d’aider les participant.es à libérer leurs rythmes intérieurs et leurs impulsions artistiques. Nous nous éveillerons de façon critique au cadre colonial de la narration et de la poésie et plongerons dans nos relations avec la colonisation et nos ancêtres.

Kai Cheng Thom est une artiste impétueuse, écrivaine et performeuse de spoken word qui fait sensation en danse Drag. Lady Sin et ses alters-ego ont voyagé à travers le Canada apportant des performances poétiques aux pages et scènes de sa ville natale, Vancouver jusqu’à ses repaires actuels à Montréal. Kai Cheng a été largement publiée comme essayiste et poète et est présentement chroniqueuse dans Everyday Feminism. Elle détient un baccalauréat et une maitrise en travail social de l’université McGill et est la co-fondatrice de Monster Academy Montreal, une initiative radicale dédiée aux jeunes pour la santé mentale.

Nikol Mikus

Nikol Mikus

Performance longue durée: quand cela finira-t-il? Avec Dayna McLeod

Dimanche 20 août – 10 h à 16 h (pause de 12 h 30 à 13 h 30) @ Studio 303

Cet atelier en deux parties guidera les participant.es dans la création artistique de performance de longue durée telle qu’envisagée par la pratique féministe queer. Ce type de performance prend le temps comme point central d’une pièce et comme élément fondamental à l’expérience de l’artiste et du public. Cet atelier encourage le développement d’une pièce en solo et/ou collaborative qui utilise le corps en proposant une tâche que ce corps peut performer. Nous explorerons la variation de conditions du travail d’endurance incluant de façon non exhaustive : la participation interactive du public, le rapprochement du public, comment générer un safe-space dans lequel performer, communiquer son intention sans parler ni donner d’indication, savoir reconnaître quand c’est fini, demander de l’aide et du soutien et pratiquer le self-care avant, pendant et après.

Dayna McLeod est une artiste en performance et vidéo. Son travail utilise l’humour et capitalise sur l’exploitation des conditions du corps social et matériel utilisant comme médium le cabaret, la performance longue durée, la vidéo monobande et l’installation. Le dernier projet de Dayna McLeod est basé sur le son Uterine Concert Hall et utilise le vagin comme média par une présentation de son utérus comme scène de performance et instrument de production. www.daynarama.com

Michael De Angelis

Michael De Angelis

La profondeur des surfaces: générer l’écriture et la mise en scène
avec Tina Satter

Lundi 21 août – 10 h à 16 h (pause de 12 h 30 à 13 h 30) @ Studio 303

Tina Satter est à Montréal dans le cadre d’une résidence offerte par le CEAD, et présentera Ghost Rings à La Chapelle le 26 août.
Basée à New York, Tina Statter est écrivaine, metteure en scène et directrice artistique d’Half Straddle, elle anime des ateliers d’écriture, de performance, et des exercices et techniques de mise en scène pour celles et ceux qui s’intéressent à la performance live incluant acteur.rices, écrivain.es, metteur.es en scène et les personnes qui commencent à faire de la performance. L’atelier permettra aux particpant.es de générer une nouvelle écriture en performance et d’apprendre des méthodes pour écrire et diriger afin d’inspirer des projets en cours. Dans un environnement collaboratif et ouvert, les participant.es pourront plonger dans l’inconnu, le non-psychologique et des façons gestuelles de générer l’écriture et la direction artistique; ainsi qu’être en conversation avec l’artiste sur son travail avec Half Straddle.

Tina Satter est écrivaine, metteure en scène et directrice artistique de la compagnie Half Straddle de Brooklyn récipiendaire du Obie Award qui se dédie à créer et présenter des artistes s’identifiant femme et/ou queer. Elle a reçu en 2016 un prix de la Foundation for Contemporary Arts et en 2014 un prix du Doris Duke Impact Artist. Elle a écrit et dirigé neuf pièces complètes avec Half Straddle et qui ont fait leurs premières à New York et par la suite été présentées dans des théâtre et festivals en Europe, au Japon et en Australie. Son plus récent projet, Here I Go, pt. 2 of You fut inspiré par les lectures d’un grand spectre d’artistes queer incluant Sarah Schulman, Branden Jacob-Jenkins, Jess Barbagallo, Ariel Goldberg et d’autres. Tina Satter a été artiste invitée dans de nombreuses universités et enseignante invitée en écriture théâtrale à l’University of Michigan en 2015-2016. Elle a participé au programme de graduation en écriture théâtrale de Mac Wellman au Brooklyn College. Sa première collection de pièces, Seagull (Thinking of you), a été publiée en 2014 par 53rd State Press.

Retraite créative à Montréal


Josh Haggarty

Josh Haggarty

Voix de la montagne avec Gein Wong

22 au 24 août (mar-jeu) de 10 h à 12 h 30

Que ressent-on lorsqu’on s’exprime et chante avec nos ancêtres? À Turtle Island, les personnes bispirituelles (Two-Spirited) ont eu un rôle important dans la communauté. Nous étions des guides, des guérisseurs et des personnes spirituelles jusqu’à ce que les différentes vagues de la colonisation changent les choses. De part le monde, il y a des histoire similaires pour les Queer/Trans/Gender et autres personnes hors-normes. Après tant de générations silencieuses, comment nos voix résonnent-elles lorsqu’elles se connectent à toutes ces histoires? Cet atelier de voix et mouvement nous aidera à explorer la résonnance de nos voix et comment nos corps peuvent bouger lorsqu’on recherche une connection avec nos ancêtres.

Gein Wong est une artiste interdisciplinaire, metteure en scène, commissaire, poète, compositrice et vidéaste issue des Premières Nations et d’Asie et est bispirituelle (Two-Spirited) et queer. Son travail se concentre sur des sujets évidents comme le genre, la classe et la race. Gein Wong siège sur le conseil d’administration du Toronto Arts Council et a reçu en 2014 le prix Ken McDougall Director et en 2015 le prix du CGSD Canadian Queer/Two Spirited Youth Role Model Lifetime Achievement. Elle est membre d’une groupe autochtone d’éco-restoration, Naadmaagit Ki, et d’un groupe de percussions autochtones bispirituel : Balance Bringers. Gein Wong est directrice artistique de Eventual Ashes, et a co-fondé l’organisation d’art communautaire Asian Arts Freedom School. Elle est aussi copropriétaire de la librairie Glad Day.

DMIC andrew Tay monster 3

Communauté temporaire de spectacle avec Andrew Tay

22 au 24 août (mar-jeu) de 14 h à 17 h

Pendant cet atelier nous créerons une structure qui nous permettra de performer et d’être ensemble. Un terrain de jeu imaginé pour que des pratiques différentes et divergentes cohabitent. Nous ferons face aux questions des fausses vérités au sujet de la création collaborative ce qui inclut: l’impartialité de la démocratie, la nécessité du compromis et les hiérarchies établies du talent et du travail. Notre “travail” sera une fête, une conversation profonde, une méditation, un spectacle de magie et une révolte!

« Through meticulous distortion and transformation of the body Andrew’s work seeks to mutate sacred actions into the banal, while paradoxically elevating the every day into something of extreme importance. Playful, colorful and charming while also being turbulent and iconoclastic, Andrew’s work explores alternative working methods for frictions within spirituality, healing and worship.”

Andrew Tay est un performeur hybride, chorégraphe et commissaire en performance basé à Montréal. En 2005, il a co-fondé (avec sa collaboratrice Sasha Kleinplatz) la compagnie Wants&Needs danse. Depuis, la compagnie a produit frénétiquement les évènements Piss in the Pool et Short&Sweet qui se tiennent dans des salles non-traditionnelles à travers la ville. En août 2016, Andrew Tay a reçu le prix Risk and Innovation à Summerworks Performance Festival pour sa pièce Fame Praver / Eating. En 2017, il a rejoint l’équipe d’O Vertigo Centre de Création comme commissaire artistique. Andrew Tay pense activement aux notions de communauté, d’irrévérence et de résistance autant dans ses performances que dans ses choix de commissariat.


Pamela Hart

Sing out avec Pamela Hart

Dimanche 27 août – 10 h à 12 h 30 @ Studio 303
Apprenez à trouver le pouvoir de votre voix et venez chanter en harmonie avec des chansons issues du répertoire queer et des textes traitant des enjeux queer.

Pamela Hart est chanteuse, technicienne de son et multi-instrumentiste qui dirige et arrange présentement la musique pour la chorale The Forever Chorus. Elle a travaillé sur des projets de noise, pop, psych, heavy/doom, classique et de jazz et a fait beaucoup de tournées comme musicienne et technicienne. The Forever Chorus est une chorale toutes voix qui chante des chansons écrites par des femmes et des artiste non binaires/trans en se concentrant sur la création d’un safe space pour que les personnes apprennent à chanter en harmonie et à développer leurs capacité vocales et de performance.

Potluck

Dimanche 27 août @ Studio 303
Un potluck (diner partagé) pour les participant.es et celles et ceux qui souhaitent faire un retour sur l’évènement et se dire aurevoir !


Inscription – Merci de vous inscrire au (514) 393-3771 ou info@studio303.ca.

Modes de paiement – Chèque, argent comptant, Paypal ou carte de crédit au téléphone ou en personne (frais de 1$ à 2$)

Politique de remboursement – Aucun remboursement possible sans motivation valable (ex: maladie ou blessure).

Accessibilité du studio – Consultez cette page pour plus d’informations.