MARCH 12: EDGY REDUX – WIKI-THON – FREE!

Photo: Valérie Sangin

Photo: Valérie Sangin

Saturday March 12th 2016 at 1pm @ Studio 303
Free – Please sign up in advance: edgy@studio303.ca

1pm – 2pm: Wikipedia editing tutorial
2pm – 5pm: Edgy Digital Interment: Wiki-Thon

After 23 years of undisciplined feminist performance, Edgy Women/Redux is on its way out as 2016 marks the FINAL edition of Edgy activities at Studio 303 (click here to read Miriam Ginestier’s statement). A meditation on Edgy’s 23-year history, this final offering looks back on the festivals’ love of experimentation and thrill for emerging performance practices by guiding our audience through a 3-step grieving process in the form of visitation, famous last words, and digital interment.

Edgy is dead, long live Edgy! For this final day of the farewell edition, we are hosting an event inspired by the Art+Feminism Wikipedia edit-a-thon, an international campaign to improve the coverage of women’s art on Wikipedia and to encourage female editorship. This digital interment is a chance for anyone to help us archive Edgy’s 23-year history online for posterity’s sake while increasing the web-visibility of feminist interdisciplinary performance and the artists that have been featured in the festival over the years. Everyone is welcome and no Wikipedia editing experience is necessary – Tutorials will be provided in English by Amber Berson and in French by Anne Goldenberg. One-on-one coaching, how-to resources, childcare (free) and refreshments will available. Come and take part, or just come have some snacks and cheer us on.

To participate (live in studio):
– Register by emailing edgy@studio303.ca
– Click here and create a Wikipedia account
– Bring a laptop, tablet or smartphone (and an extra to share if you can)

To participate (long distance):
– Click here and create a Wikipedia account
– Click here to learn how to edit articles


Biography

Amber Berson is a writer, curator, and PhD student who conducting doctoral research at Queen’s University on the subject of artist-run culture and feminist, Utopian thinking. She most recently curated The Let Down Reflex (2016); TrailMix (2014); *~._.:*JENNIFER X JENNIFER*:.~ (2013); The Annual Art Administrator’s Relay Race (2013); and The Wild Bush Residency (2012–14). She is on the editorial committee of .dpi, a feminist journal of digital art and culture, is the Canadian ambassador for the Art+Feminism Wikipedia project. Her writing has been published in Breach Magazine, Canadian Art, C Magazine, Esse, Fuse Magazine and the St Andrews Journal of Art History and Museum Studies. amberberson.com

Anne Goldenberg is a co founder of FemHack, Hacking with Care and Politics and Care.
She is a transdisciplinary researcher, dancer and multimedia artist interested in the political, epistemic and poetic aspects of collaborative platforms and participatory devices. She has a PhD in Communication (UQAM, Montreal) and in Sociology (Unice, Nice) and wrote her thesis on “The Negotiation of Contributions in Public Wikis.” This theoretical work led her to engage with the poetics of collective contributions through various forms – relational movement, dance improvisation, performances, multimedia and mixed media installation. She likes to introduce relational practices (between humans, nature and technologies) and creates intimate spaces toward personnal and collective emancipation. As a techno-feminist, she also facilitates participatory process and mutual learning and likes to make visible, readable and malleable the processes of co-construction of knowledge. Since two years, she is involved in projects that bring together politics care and antioppressive practices.


Accessibility info: Studio 303 is accessible to mobility devices. Please contact technique@studio303.ca for further information.

12 MARS : EDGY REDUX – WIKI-THON – GRATUIT!

Photo: Valérie Sangin

Photo: Valérie Sangin

Samedi 12 mars 2016, 13 h @ Studio 303
Gratuit – Merci de vous inscrire à l’avance à edgy@studio303.ca

13 h à 14 h : Tutoriel d’écriture sur Wikipedia
14 h à 17 h : Enterrement digital d’Edgy : Wiki-Thon

Après 23 ans de performance féministe indisciplinée, Edgy Women/Redux tire sa révérence et fera de 2016 son ULTIME apparition… (cliquez ici pour lire la déclaration de Miriam Ginestier) Nous proposons ainsi une réflexion sur les 23 ans de vie d’Edgy, ainsi qu’un dernier regard sur son amour pour l’expérimentation et les pratiques féministes en performance. Le public sera guidé à travers un processus en 3 étapes sous la forme d’une visite de salon funéraire, ses derniers mots et un enterrement digital.

Edgy est morte, vive Edgy! Pour cette dernière édition, on organise un évènement s’inspirant de l’edit-a-thon Wikipedia Art+Feminisme, une campagne internationale pour améliorer la couverture de l’art féminin sur Wikipedia et pour encourager les femmes à éditer davantage. Cet enterrement digital est une opportunité d’archiver 23 ans d’histoire d’Edgy sur internet, pour la postérité, tout en augmentant la visibilité en ligne de la performance interdisciplinaire féministe et des artistes programmés à travers les années. Tout le monde est bienvenu et aucune expérience Wikipedia n’est requise. Un tutoriel sera offert en anglais par Amber Berson et en français par Anne Goldenberg. Coaching individuel, ressources écrites, garderie pour enfants et collations seront offerts. Venez prendre part, ou juste grignoter un morceau avec nous pour nous soutenir!

Pour participer (directement au Studio 303) :
– Inscrivez-vous par courriel à edgy@studio303.ca
– Cliquez ici et créez un compte Wikipedia
– Ramenez votre laptop, tablette ou téléphone intelligence (et un en plus pour partager si vous pouvez).

Pour participer (à distance) :
– Cliquez ici et créez un compte Wikipedia
– Cliquez ici pour apprendre comment rédiger des articles


Biographie

Amber Berson est écrivaine, commissaire et mène des recherches doctorales à l’Université Queen’s sur le thème de la culture des centres d’artistes autogérés, le féminisme et de la pensée utopique. Elle a récemment été commissaire pour : The Let Down Reflex (2016), TrailMix (2014), *~._.:*JENNIFER X JENNIFER*:.~ (2013), La course annuelle des administrateur-rice-s des arts (2013) et The Wild Bush Residency (2012-14). Elle est membre du comité éditorial de .dpi, une revue féministe d’art et de culture numérique et aussi ambassadrice canadienne pour un projet Wikipedia Art+Feminisme. Ses articles ont été publiés dans Breach Magazine, Canadian Art, C Magazine, Esse, Fuse Magazine et St Andrews Journal of Art History and Museum Studies. amberberson.com

Anne Goldenberg est co fondatrice de FemHack, Hacking with Care and Politics and Care.
Elle est aussi une chercheuse, danseuse et artiste transdisciplinaire qui s’intéresse aux aspects politiques, épistémiques et poétiques de plateformes collaboratives et de dispositifs participatifs. Elle détient un doctorat en communication (UQAM, Montréal) et en sociologie (Unice, Nice) et a écrit sa thèse sur « la négociation des contributions dans les wikis publics ». Ce travail théorique l’a amenée à observer et explorer via diverses formes – mouvement relationnel, danse d’improvisation, performance et installation – les aspects poétiques de la collaboration. Elle aime ouvrir des espaces relationnels qui créent de l’intimité entre humains, nature et technologies, et favoriser la recherche d’émancipation personnelle et collective. En tant que techno-féministe, elle facilite également des démarches participatives d’apprentissage mutuel et aime rendre visible, lisible et malléable les processus de co-construction des connaissances. Depuis deux ans, elle s’implique plus particulièrement dans des projets associant pratiques anti-oppressives et politisation du care.


Note sur l’accessibilité : Le Studio 303 est accessible aux fauteuils roulants. Merci de contacter technique@studio303.ca pour plus d’information.