JAN 28-29: REMIX

H.S. Muller by V. Soucy

H.S. Muller by V. Soucy

Saturday, January 28th 2017, 8 p.m and Sunday January 29th 2017, 4 p.m. @ Studio 303
$10 to $20 sliding scale (cash, at the door)

In response to a growing interest in dance dramaturgy, REMIX explores how a choreography can be re-worked and re-performed to bring out new meaning, while troubling the idea of ownership through a radical sharing of material. This year, guest choreographers Aurélie Pedron and Lara Kramer will remix Crow’s Nest and Other Places She’s Gone byOlivia C. Davies and transposition byHanna Sybille Müller, respectively. Four short pieces will be presented: two originals followed by their remix.

If you are interested by the artistic process behind REMIX, watch our documentary from first edition in 2014.

Residencies offered in partnership with José Navas/Compagnie Flak.


Crow’s Nest and Other Places She’s Gone | original Olivia C. Davies | remix Aurélie Pedron

‘Crow’s Nest and Other Places She’s Gone’ is a new dance-theatre work by Olivia C. Davies, in collaboration with Coast Salish storyteller, Rosemary Georgeson. It highlights women’s stories of travel and transition and questions ideas of Home.

Olivia C. Davies is a Canadian choreographer and performer whose work focuses on the body’s dynamic ability to transmit narrative. Portraying stories of transformation in the context of contemporary Aboriginal experience, Davies often collaborates with writers, storytellers, poets and musicians to design dances that evoke the traditions of storyweaving and dramatic play. Investigating themes of transition, existential revelations and answers to the trauma, Davies draws on her mixed Métis, Anishnawbe, Welsh roots and lived experience to highlight the stories. Her works have been presented in British Columbia and Ontario since 2002. Davies formally trained at York University.

Aurélie Pedron holds a BFA in Dance from UQAM and later completed a research and creation Master degree. With her creation company Lilith & Cie, she has directed over 10 videos, presented over 14 countries in Asia, Europe, and America. Her stage work evolves around the research of invisible images. She has presented at Studio 303, SAR, Ateliers Jean-Brillant, FNC, Festival de Rue de Lachine, as well as Danse-Cité and Tangente. In 2015, she received the Découverte des Prix de la Danse de Montréal award for ENTRE. Aurélie Pedron is also curious about working with marginalised persons : RÛE et MARGE was supported by DARE DARE and INDEEP was a 10 hour performance with underprivileged youth. LA LOBA, a 12 performance series will be presented in September 2016 with Danse-Cité.

transposition | original Hanna Sybille Müller | remix Lara Kramer

“Welcome! What I do I call transposition. This is about you and me. It will take 40 minutes and I will do what I say and say what I do.” Tone, words, terms bring us into movement.
 Which sentences or words release which kinds of movements (images)?

Hanna Sybille Müller is a choreographer and a dancer. She studied dance at the Rotterdamse Dansacademie and received a diploma in media studies at the Berlin University of the Arts in 2012. From 2009 to 2013 she worked as a researcher at the excellence cluster Languages of Emotion at the Freie Universität Berlin. As a choreographer she has created numerous works that were presented internationally. As a performer she collaborated with Eva Meyer-Keller, Isabelle Schad, deufert&plischke, and s-h-i-f-t-s among others. She recently participated in the 2016 edition of the Third Floor Residency at Usine C.

Lara Kramer is the Artistic Director and Choreographer of Lara Kramer Danse, a company based in Montreal. Lara is an Oji-Cree choreographer and performer (Ojibwe and Cree) whose work is intimately linked to memory, often examining political issues surrounding Canada and First Nations Peoples. Her work has been show in Montreal, Ottawa, Peterborough, Rama, ON, Toronto, Regina, Edmonton, Banff, Vancouver and Providence, Rhode Island gaining recognition as an important Indigenous voice in Canada.


Studio’s accessibility – Consult this page for detailed information.

28-29 JAN : REMIX

H.S. Muller de V. Soucy

H.S. Muller de V. Soucy

Samedi 28 janvier 2017, 20h et dimanche 29 janvier 2017, 16h @ Studio 303
10 $ à 20 $ selon vos moyens (comptant, à la porte)

REMIX est né d’un intérêt grandissant pour la dramaturgie en danse. Ce projet s’intéresse à comment un remix chorégraphique peut apporter un nouveau sens à une oeuvre, tout en questionnant la notion d’auteur en danse via un partage radical de matériel. Cette année, les chorégraphes invitées Aurélie Pedron et Lara Kramer remixeront Crow’s Nest and Other Places She’s Gone d’Olivia C. Davies et transposition d’Hanna Sybille Müller, respectivement. Quatre courtes pièces seront ainsi présentées : deux originales, suivies de leur remix.

Si le processus de création de REMIX vous intéresse, n’hésitez pas à regarder notre documentaire, réalisé lors de la première édition de REMIX en 2014.

Résidences offertes en partenariat avec José Navas/Compagnie Flak.


Crow’s Nest and Other Places She’s Gone | original Olivia C. Davies | remix Aurélie Pedron

Crow’s Nest and Other Places She’s Gone est une nouvelle création en danse-théâtre d’Olivia C. Davies, en collaboration avec la conteuse des Premières Nations de la côte Salish, Rosemary Georgeson. Cette pièce met en lumière des histoires contées de femmes à propos de voyage et transition et une remise en question du ‘chez-soi’.

Olivia C. Davies est une chorégraphe et interprète canadienne, formée à l’université de York, dont le travail porte sur la capacité dynamique du corps à transmettre un récit. Décrivant les histoires de transformation dans le contexte de l’expérience autochtone contemporaine, Davies collabore souvent avec des écrivains, conteurs, poètes et musiciens pour concevoir des danses qui évoquent les traditions de storyweaving et jeu dramatique. Explorant les thèmes de la transition, les révélations existentielles et les réponses au traumatisme, Davies s’appuie sur son mélange de racines métis, anishnawbe et galloises pour mettre en lumière ses propos. Ses œuvres ont été présentées en Colombie-Britannique et en Ontario depuis 2002.

D’abord titulaire d’un baccalauréat en danse à l’UQAM, Aurélie Pedron a ensuite complété, une maîtrise en recherche/création. Après quoi, elle fonde sa compagnie de création : Lilith & Cie. Ses vidéos sont diffusées dans plus de 14 pays à travers l’Asie, l’Europe, l’Amérique du Sud et les Etats-Unis. Son travail scénique s’inscrit dans la recherche des images invisibles. Ses œuvres sont présentées au Studio 303, à la SAT, aux Ateliers Jean-Brillant, au FNC, au Festival de Rue de Lachine ainsi qu’à Danse-Cité et Tangente. ENTRE, lui a value en novembre 2015 le prix Découverte des Prix de la Danse de Montréal. Parallèlement, Aurélie aime à travailler avec des personnes marginalisées : RÛE et MARGE a été est soutenu par DARE DARE et dernièrement INDEEP avec des jeunes aux prises avec des problèmes qui ont réalisé une performance de 10h à l’aveugle. LA LOBA, une série de 12 performances dans un lieu insolite est présenté en septembre 2016 avec Danse-Cité.

transposition | original Hanna Sybille Müller | remix Lara Kramer

“Bienvenue! À ce que j’appelle transposition. C’est à propos de vous et de moi. Cela prendra 40 minutes. Je ferai ce que je dis et je dirai ce que je fais.” Ton, mots, termes nous amènent au mouvement. Quelles phrases ou mots permettent quels types de mouvements (images)?

Hanna Sybille Müller est une chorégraphe et une danseuse. Elle a étudié à la Rotterdamse Dansacademie et a reçu un diplôme en études des médias à l’Université des Arts de Berlin en 2012. De 2009 à 2013 elle a travaillé comme chercheure au pôle d’excellence de Languages of Emotion à la Freie Universität de Berlin. En tant que chorégraphe, elle a créé de nombreuses oeuvres qui ont été présentées à l’échelle internationale. En tant qu’interprète, elle a collaboré avec Eva Meyer-Keller, Isabelle Schad, deufert&plischke et s-h-i-f-t-s entre autres. Elle participait récemment à l’édition 2016 de la Third Floor Residency à l’Usine C.

Lara Kramer est la directrice artistique et chorégraphe de la compagnie montréalaise Lara Kramer Danse. Elle est aussi une chorégraphe et interprète Oji-Cri (Ojibwé-Cri) dont les oeuvres sont intimement liées à l’histoire et explorent souvent des enjeux politiques concernant le Canada et les Premières Nations. Ses oeuvres ont été présentées à Montréal, Ottawa, Peterborough, Rama, ON, Toronto, Régina, Edmonton, Banff, Vancouver et Providence Rhode Island. Elle est reconnue comme une artiste à la défense des droits de la personne avec une voix autochtone importante au Canada.


Accessibilité du studio – Consultez cette page pour plus d’informations.