REMIX CanDance Creative Exchange

Bailey Eng by ManikMati

Saturday, September 23rd 2017, 6 p.m and Sunday September 24th 2017, 4 p.m. @ Studio 303
$10 to $20 sliding scale (cash, at the door)

Montreal-based choreographers Bailey Eng and Katia-Marie Germain will see their works Disintegration and Aube, respectively; remixed by Sarah Joy Stoker (St. John’s) and Amber Borotsik (Edmonton), over the course of a one week residency. Audiences are invited to witness the results during two public performances featuring two originals and two remixes, followed by a discussion with the artists.

For this fourth edition, Studio 303 continues to explore dance reinterpretation, remixing and covering, while expanding the concept with a new inter-province exchange. The REMIX CanDance Creative Exchange is a co-presentation of The CanDance Network, Studio 303 (QC), Neighbourhood Dance Works (NL), and Mile Zero Dance (AB) and is supported by the Dance Section of The Canada Council for the Arts and Canadian Heritage. Montreal’s residency is offered in partnership with José Navas/Compagnie Flak. One choreographer from each province will visit the two others to remix a local choreographer’s piece. Thea Patterson (QC) will go to Mile Zero Dance (AB) on October 14-15, and Neighbourhood Dance Works (NL) on November 18-19 to remix local artists’ works:

Disintegration | Original by Bailey Eng, performed with Greg Selinger

This work explores contemporary dance and Chinese pole with and through one another. The solo and duet were created separately, then arranged to be presented together. A research into the function and representation of the pole as an apparatus, object, and set piece.

Aube (excerpt) | Original by Katia-Marie Germain, performed with Hélène Messier

Through a body movement which take advantages similarity between performers, synchronism in shorts movements, precision, and subtlety; Aube explores, in a enigmatic universe, the double and identity thematic.


Artists’ biographies

Bailey Eng (QC) developed her mouvement practices through contemporary dance, breaking, parkour, contortion, and Chinese pole. She graduated from Concordia University with a BFA in Contemporary Dance, after having also studied at L’Ecole Nationale de Cirque and York University. She has done several performances which have allowed her to incorporate dance, circus, and parkour, including work with Andreane Leclerc, La Marche du Crabe, Jeff Hall, and Les Minutes Completement Cirque. In addition to performing, she is also an emerging choreographer and coach of acrobatics and dance

Katia-Marie Germain (QC) is a choreographer and performer. Her first creations were presented in 2010 at Montreal’s Tangente and at the OFFTA, Art Souterrain, Fringe and Bouge d’ici festivals. Her creations Aube (2012), FOLDS (2014) and Habiter (2017) were presented in various festivals and venues in Quebec and abroad. Already holding a Bachelor’s Degree in visual arts (2007) and in dance (2010), Katia-Marie Germain is currently completing a Master’s Degree in dance at the Université du Québec À Montréal. katiamariegermain.com

Amber Borotsik (AB) is a creator and performer keenly interested in the intersection between improvisation, theatre and contemporary dance practices. To date, Amber has created three full length works Scythe, Backwater, The Moon at Midnight and numerous shorter works ( Here. Like this.). She has presented work and performed, in both dance and theatre, across Canada, the United States and in Japan. In 2015 she received the TELUS Courage to Innovate award at the Mayor’s Evening for the Arts in Edmonton, and has been working with inter-ability dance communities for five years.

Sarah Joy Stoker (NL) began her dance training as a child, graduating from the School of Toronto Dance Theatre in 1996. She worked as an independent dance artist in Toronto and Montreal performing her own work and that of other choreographers and companies nationally and internationally. Upon her return to NL she formed a collective and production company, was heavily involved with Neighbourhood Dance Works and the Festival of New Dance from 2003 until 2010, and since continues to create dance and interdisciplinary work. gutsink.nf.ca

Thea Patterson (QC) works through expanded ideologies of dance and performance on a variety of projects with many beloved colleagues. Her solo project the dance that I cannot do was presented in New York, in Montreal, in Halifax and Parrsboro Nova Scotia and in Munich Germany. Thea completed her Masters at DAS Graduate School (2016), in Amsterdam where she created her new solo between this is and the could be. She is currently working on projects in Montreal, Portugal and Amsterdam. theapatterson.wordpress.com


Studio’s accessibility – Consult this page for detailed information.

REMIX CanDanse échanges en création

Bailey Eng by ManikMati

Samedi 23 septembre 2017, 18h et dimanche 24 septembre 2017, 16h @ Studio 303
10 $ à 20 $ selon vos moyens (comptant, à la porte)

Les chorégraphes montréalaises Bailey Eng et Katia-Marie Germain verront leurs pièces Disintegration et Aube, respectivement; remixées par Sarah Stoker (Saint-Jean de Terre-Neuve) et Amber Borotsik (Edmonton) lors d’une résidence d’une semaine. Par la suite, quatre courtes pièces seront présentées : deux originales, deux remixes, suivies par une discussion avec le public.

Pour cette quatrième édition, le Studio 303 poursuit le questionnement de la réinterprétation, le remixage et l’appropriation en danse, tout un élargissant le concept avec un échange inter-province. REMIX CanDanse Échanges en création est une co-présentation du réseau CanDanse, du Studio 303 (QC), de Mile Zero Dance (AB) et du Neighbourhood Dance Works (NL) et est soutenu par la section Danse du Conseil des Arts du Canada et Patrimoine canadien. La résidence montréalaise est offerte en partenariat avec José Navas/Compagnie Flak. Une chorégraphe de chaque province visitera les deux autres provinces pour y remixer une pièce locale. Thea Patterson (QC) sera la remixeuse invitée à Mile Zero Dance (AB) les 14 et 15 octobre 2017 et au Neighbourhood Dance Works (NL) les 18 et 19 novembre 2017.

Disintegration | Original de Bailey Eng, interprété avec Greg Selinger

Ce travail explore la relation concomitante de la danse contemporaine et du mât chinois. Le solo et le duo sont créés séparément, puis sont agencés et présentés ensemble. Une recherche sur la fonction et la représentation du poteau comme d’un appareil, un objet et un élément de scénographie.

Aube (extrait) | Original de Katia-Marie Germain, interprété avec Hélène Messier

À travers une gestuelle qui met à profit la ressemblance entre les interprètes, le synchronisme dans les petits mouvements, la précision et la subtilité, Aube explore, dans un univers énigmatique, les thématiques du double et de l’identité.


Biographie des artistes

Les pratiques du mouvement de Bailey Eng (QC) proviennent de la danse contemporaine, du breaking, du parkour, de la contorsion et du mât chinois. Bailey Eng a gradué de l’Université de Concordia en danse après avoir aussi étudié à l’École Nationale de Cirque et l’Université de York. Ses multiples performances incluent la danse, le cirque et le parkour, en collaboration notamment avec Andréane Leclerc, La Marche du Crabe, Jeff Hall et Les Minutes Complètement Cirque. Bailey Eng est aussi chorégraphe émergente et entraîneuse en acrobatie et danse.

Katia-Marie Germain (QC) travaille depuis 2010 comme chorégraphe-interprète. Ses premières oeuvres ont été présentées à Montréal à Tangente et lors des festivals OFFTA, Art Souterrain, Fringe et Bouge d’Ici. Ses pièces Aube (2012), FOLDS (2014) et Habiter (2017) ont été présentées dans divers lieux et festivals au Québec et à l’étranger. Bachelière en arts visuels (2007) et en danse (2010), Katia-Marie complète une maîtrise en danse à l’Université du Québec À Montréal. katiamariegermain.com

Amber Borotsik (AB) est une créatrice et performeuse dont l’intérêt porte sur l’intersection entre improvisation, théâtre et danse contemporaine. Jusqu’à maintenant, Amber Borotsik a créé trois pièces complètes Scythe, Backwater, The moon at midnight et de nombreuses courtes pièces. Elle a présenté son travail et ses performances en danse et théâtre à travers le Canada, les États-unis et le Japon. En 2015, elle a reçu le TELUS Courage to Innovate award au Mayor’s Evening for the Arts à Edmonton. Elle travaille depuis cinq ans avec des communautés en danse inter-capacités.

Sarah Joy Stoker (NL) gradue en 1996 de l’École de Danse et de Théâtre de Toronto. Elle a ensuite travaillé en tant qu’artiste indépendante à Toronto et à Montréal, performant dans ses propres pièces et pour d’autres chorégraphes locaux et internationaux. Depuis son retour à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, elle a formé un collectif et une compagnie de production. Elle a aussi été très impliquée avec Neighbourhood Dance Works et le Festival of New Dance de 2003 à 2010, et continue depuis à créer en danse et en arts interdisciplinaires. gutsink.nf.ca

Thea Patterson (QC) travaille à travers des idéologies élargies en danse et performance, sur des projets avec des collègues bien-aimé.es. Son projet the dance that i cannot do a été présenté à New York, Montréal, Halifax et Parrsboro en Nouvelle-Écosse et à Munich. Thea Patterson a complété sa maîtrise à la DAS Graduate School (2016), à Amsterdam où elle a créé son nouveau travail between this is and the could be. Elle travaille depuis sur des projets à Montréal, au Portugal et à Amsterdam. theapatterson.wordpress.com


Accessibilité du studio – Consultez cette page pour plus d’informations.