At a glance

Studio 303 offers audiences affordable access to diverse experimental contemporary dance and interdisciplinary performance experiences. We seek out artists who escape definition, who are curiosity-driven and who challenge the status quo in their work, both in terms of content and-or form. Predictably unpredictable, our programming is responsive to current creative practices and to exciting opportunities that arise.

Our presenting season now revolves around four annual events: REMIX, Cabaret Tollé, All Nuit Long Vidéodanse, and out Curator-in-residence show. In addition, we will host special events such as keyon gaskin at VIVA! Art Action (see calendar below). 

This year Studio 303 is also involved in two touring projects – in Edmonton, St-John’s and Birmingham (UK): This Fall, as part of the REMIX CanDance Creative Exchange, Montreal artist Thea Patterson will tour to Edmonton and St-John’s to remix local work from those two communities. And in October 2017, Birmingham’s Fierce festival in the U.K. will present work by Andrew Tay, Christopher Willes + Adam Kinner, and Andréa de Keijzer + Erin Robinsong’s as part of a market development activity supported by the English Language Arts Network, and devised by Studio 303. 

2017-18 PUBLIC EVENTS PROGRAMMING
Click here to consult full program.

REMIX CanDance Creative Exchange
Two original works followed by their remixes by guest choreographers. A radical sharing of material.
September 23-24, 2017

keyon gaskin @ VIVA! Art Action
Studio 303 is a new partner at VIVA! Art Action, a lively biennial which generates unprecedented experiences for artists as well as for the public.
October 4, 2017

Cabaret Tollé
Broke, woke and think the economic status of artists is no joke? Be part of an evening of artful indignation and creative protest.
December 7, 2017.

All Nuit Long Vidéodanse
Screendance videos and popcorn for insomniacs.
March 3, 2018.

Curator-in-residence
Think, devise, express. A program conceived by a different curator-in-residence each year.
April 14-15, 2018.

SPARK Studio Series
Free informal showings by 303-associated artists during the FTA.
May 2018 (date TBA)

À Table
A “slow networking” event for artists and presenters.
May 2018 (date TBA)

Long Table
A playful format conducive to dynamic public discussion. A dinner party where conversation is the only course.
May 2018 (date TBA)

Survol

Le Studio 303 propose des activités expérimentales en danse contemporaine et performance interdisciplinaire. Nous programmons des artistes qui échappent aux définitions et qui remettent en question le status quo dans leur travail, autant dans la forme que dans le contenu. Toujours imprévisible, notre programmation s’établit en réaction aux pratiques artistiques du moment et aux opportunités excitantes qui se présentent.

Notre saison de diffusion repose sur quatre événements récurrents : REMIX, Cabaret Tollé, All Nuit Long Vidéodanse et Commissaire-en-résidence; ainsi que des événements spéciaux comme VIVA! Art Action cette saison (voir calendrier ci-dessous).

Aussi, le Studio 303 est impliqué cette année dans deux projets de tournées. Pour REMIX CanDanse Échanges en création, l’artiste montréalaise Thea Patterson voyagera à Edmonton et Saint-Jean de Terre-Neuve afin de remixer des chorégraphes locales. Aussi, les artistes Andrew Tay, Christopher Willes + Adam Kinner et Andréa de Keijzer + Erin Robinsong présenteront leurs créations au festival Fierce à Birmingham (G-B), dans le cadre d’une activité en développement de marché soutenu par ELAN (English Language Arts Network) et conçue par le Studio 303.

PROGRAMMATION D’ÉVÉNEMENTS PUBLICS 2017-18
Cliquez ici pour toutes les informations.

REMIX CanDanse Échanges en création
Deux pièces suivie de leurs remixes par des chorégraphes invité.es. Un partage radical de matériel.
23-24 septembre 2017

keyon gaskin @ VIVA! Art Action
Studio 303 participe à VIVA! Art Action, une biennale rassembleuse autour de la performance.
4 Octobre 2017

Cabaret Tollé
Car la situation économique des artistes est une joke? Prenez part à une soirée d’indignation artistique et de protestation créative.
7 décembre 2017

All Nuit Long Vidéodanse
Soirée vidéodanse et popcorn pour les montréalais.es insomniaques.
3 mars 2018

Commissaire-en-résidence
Penser. Imaginer. Exprimer. Programme imaginé par le.a commissaire-en-résidence sélectionnée chaque année.
14-15 avril 2018

SPARK Série Studio
Présentations informelles et gratuites par des artistes associés au Studio 303.
Mai 2018 (date TBA)

À Table
Un événement de réseautage unique et décontracté entre artistes et diffuseurs.
Mai 2018 (date TBA)

Table Longue
Un souper entre ami.es où le plat principal consiste en des conversations publiques.
Mai 2018 (date TBA)