It by Giorgos Efthimiou

All Nuit Long

Saturday, February 29th 2020, 9 p.m. to 1 a.m. @ Studio 303 — FREE

Studio 303’s curator-in-residence for 2019-20, Aaron Pollard, will present an evening tracing the history of a queer body politic over 30 years of Studio 303 programming. Working with 303’s archives, the invaluable support of archivist intern, Abigail Stushnoff, and the lived experience of staff members and artists in the community, this event aims to bring to life and to light the ephemera of Studio 303’s past.

The event may or may not include a video installation, an aural history, personal sharings, live performance… As a Nuit blanche à Montréal 2020 event, there will definitely be popcorn, beer and samosas for sale! The programme will be announced in January 2020.

Nuit blanche à Montréal website

Aaron Pollard is an interdisciplinary artist, cultural worker and educator living in Montreal. Under the moniker of 2boys.tv and in collaboration with Stephen Lawson, Pollard has presented performances, installations and single-channel videos to audiences in Montreal, across Canada and internationally. He possesses decades of experience making art and teaching creative processes in correlation to video production, sound, music, projection, installation and performance. He has engaged periodically in curatorial work, having developed programming for Image+Nation film festival in the 1990s and through his contributions to OBORO’s programming as Head of Research for their multimedia sector. He has written essays for exhibitions by Allison Moore and Eman Haram and has published articles and reviews in Parachute, P-Form, The Canadian Theatre Review and Performance Research.

Abi Stushnoff is a transdisciplinary artist with a spectrum of interests including puppetry, analog and digital technologies, somatic dance practices, cyborg theatrics, still and moving image making, among other things.  She graduated from Humber College’s Theatre Performance Program in 2018. During her time in Toronto, she developed Out of the Shadows, an original play which was performed in the 2017 Paprika Festival (Toronto). Abi is also a filmmaker with her first short film, Orange You Glad, premiering at the Rendezvous with Madness Film Festival (2018).  Abi currently studies at Concordia University, undertaking a Bachelor of Fine Arts with a double major in Intermedia CyberArts and Design for the Theatre. She is currently the performance archive intern for Studio 303’s curator-in-residence Aaron Pollard (2boys.tv) and assistant director for Cathia Pagotto’s latest devised production Marić at the Lake which premiers in March 2020 at Concordia University’s D.B. Clarke Theatre.


Studio 303’s accessibility – Consult this page for detailed information.

It de Giorgos Efthimiou

All Nuit Long

Samedi 29 février 2020 de 21 h à 1 h
@ Studio 303
GRATUIT

L’artiste en résidence du Studio 303 pour 2019-20, Aaron Pollard, présentera une soirée retraçant l’histoire des politiques du corps queer à travers les 30 années d’existence du Studio 303. En travaillant avec les archives du Studio 303 et Abigail Stushnoff, notre stagiaire archiviste, sa recherche s’inspirera de l’expérience vécue par les membres de l’équipe du Studio 303 et les artistes de la communauté. Cet événement a pour but de mettre en lumière le passé du Studio 303 et le faire revivre.

L’évènement inclura potentiellement une installation vidéo, une histoire auditive, des partages personnels, de la performance…Cette activité dans le cadre de Nuit blanche à Montréal 2020 aura définitivement du popcorn, de la bière et des samosas à vendre! La programmation sera annoncée en janvier 2020.

Site web Nuit blanche à Montréal

Aaron Pollard est un artiste interdisciplinaire, un travailleur culturel et un enseignant habitant à Montréal. Sous le surnom de 2boys.tv et en collaboration avec Stephen Lawson, Pollard a présenté des performances, des installations et des vidéos à Montréal, partout au Canada et à l’international. Il détient des décennies d’expérience dans la production artistique et l’enseignement du processus créatif en lien avec la production vidéo, le son, la musique, la projection, l’installation et la performance. Il s’est régulièrement engagé dans la programmation, ayant développé des programmes pour le festival de film Image+Nation dans les années 1990 et à travers ses contributions à la programmation de OBORO en tant que directeur de recherche pour leur secteur multimédia. Il a écrit des essais pour les expositions de Allison Moore et Eman Haram. Il a également publié des articles et des critiques dans les magazines Parachute, P-Form, The Canadian Theatre Review et Performance Research.

Abi Stushnoff est une artiste transdisplinaire dont les intérêts multiples et variés incluent les marionnettes, les technologies digitales et analogiques, les pratiques de danse somatique, le théâtre cyborg ou encore la production de photos et vidéos. Elle a gradué du programme de Performance théâtrale du College Humber en 2018. À Toronto, elle a développé Out of the Shadows, une pièce originale présentée au Festival Paprika en 2017 (Toronto). Abi réalise aussi des films, dont Orange You Glad, dont la première a eu lieu au Festival de Film Rendezvous with Madness en 2018. Abi est actuellement étudiante au Baccalauréat ès beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia avec une double majeure en Intermedia CyberArts et design pour le théâtre. Elle est aussi la stagiaire-archiviste au Studio 303 auprès du commissaire-en-résidence Aaron Pollard (2boys.tv) et assistante réalisatrice pour la dernière production de Cathia Pagotto, Marić at the Lake, dont la première sera présentée au Théâtre D.B. Clarke de l’Université Concordia en mars 2020.


Accessibilité du Studio 303– Consultez cette page pour plus d’informations.