Bollywood

Online: April 30th to June 4th, 2020 (6 classes)
Thursday 7:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.
$60 for the full session or $10 drop-ins
Payment methods: e-transfer by email (rameezkarimdance@gmail.com)
514-979-1786 / Bilingual teacher

Following registration/payment, you will receive the link for the online class by email. The class will take place on ZOOM.

CONTENT // Dive into the magical world of Bollywood! This mystical dance form exercises coordination, expression, stamina and fun. From its roots stemming from Indian classical dances (bharatanatyam and kathak) to different provincial, folk dances from around India, Bollywood is one of the few dance forms that is constantly evolving & drawing new inspirations from movement influencers within the industry. This class will allow you explore the basic elements of Bollywood dance including body isolations, hand gestures (mudras), flow, footwork and theatrics. With over 20 years of experience from different influential industry and non-industry choreographers, Rameez Karim has developed his own interpretation of Bollywood dance that ranges from more traditional filmi to spectacular fusion numbers. His compositions constantly challenge different movements, their qualities and execution. Let’s go to the colourful land of Bollywood!

BIO // Rameez Karim is a queer, Montreal-based multi-dance genre choreographer, instructor and performer. He is the former Assistant Director of Bollywood Blast. He has learned from renowned Bollywood choreographers Saroj Khan, Shampa Gopikrishna and Baba Yadav. He has also learned from celebrity choreographers in Western styles of dance including Pavan Thimmaiah, Mark Samuels & Paul Becker. Rameez has worked for/ with artists such as Marc Dupré, Mia Martina, The Bilz & Kashif, Priyanka Chopra, Diljit Dosanj and Jassi Sidhu. On screen, Rameez has appeared in numerous music videos and films including “Ho Gayi Talli” from the Bollywood film Super Singh (2017) which has over 29 million views on YouTube. Rameez has choreographed and performed for some of Montreal’s largest festivals including Acces Asie, Taste of the Caribbean and Canada Pride. His work has been presented locally and internationally in Lisbon, Dubai, Mexico and New York City and across Canada.

On June 9, 2019 Rameez launched his new troupe, Veils of Bollywood, at the 15th Annual Choreographer’s Ball in Toronto, Canada. Rameez’s extensive exposure to different styles of movement has allowed him to create using a vast palette rich in many forms of cultural expression. Being part of the Ismaili Muslim community, he incorporates elements of spirituality and enlightenment into his work. His most recent training in contemporary dance with Stéphanie Decourteille has allowed him to further explore another realm of movement. Rameez continues to develop his own style using his diverse life experience and everyday inspirations. He is pursuing a Bachelor of Fine Arts at Concordia University in Montreal with a major in Contemporary Dance specializing in Creation & Choreography.

Youtube

Instagram

Facebook

Image: Alex Choquette


By participating in this online offering, you acknowledge that there are inherent risks of physical exertion to any activity, and agree to hold harmless Studio 303 and its employees and contractors from any and all liability for personal injury, however caused, arising from your participation. You freely accept and assume all such risks from participation in any ctvity or event with Studio 303. Please note that RQD members usually covered by CNESST are NOT covered during online activities. Thank you for your understanding!

Bollywood

En ligne: 30 avril au 4 juin, 2020 (6 cours)
Jeudi 19h30 – 20h30
$60 pour la session complete ou $10 à la classe
Paiement: virement intérac (rameezkarimdance@gmail.com)
514-979-1786 / Professeure bilingue

Suite au paiement, vous recevrez le lien du cours par courriel. Le cours aura lieu sur la plateforme ZOOM.

CONTENU // Plongez dans le monde magique de Bollywood! Cette forme de danse mystique va mettre en pratique la coordination, l’expression, l’endurance et le plaisir . Avec ses racines provenant des danses classiques indiennes (bharatanatyam et kathak) aux différentes danses folkloriques provinciales de toute l’Inde, Bollywood est l’une des rares formes de danse qui évolue constamment. Ce cours vous permettra d’explorer les éléments de base de la danse Bollywood, y compris les isolements corporels, les gestes de mains (mudras), la fluidité, le travail de jambes et le théâtre. Avec plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec différents chorégraphes influents, de l’industrie et hors industrie, Rameez Karim a développé sa propre interprétation de la danse Bollywood qui va du filmi plus traditionnel aux numéros de fusion spectaculaires. Ses compositions défient constamment les mouvements, leurs qualités et leur exécution. Entrons dans le monde coloré de Bollywood!

BIO // Karim est queer, chorégraphe, instructeur et interprète de genre multidanse basé à Montréal. Il est l’ancien directeur adjoint de Bollywood Blast. Il a appris auprès de chorégraphes renommés de Bollywood, Saroj Khan, Shampa Gopikrishna et Baba Yadav. Il a également appris auprès des célèbres chorégraphes de danse occidentales Pavan Thimmaiah, Mark Samuels et Paul Becker. Rameez a travaillé pour/avec des artistes tels que Marc Dupré, Mia Martina, The Bilz & Kashif, Priyanka Chopra, Diljit Dosanj et Jassi Sidhu. À l’écran, Rameez est apparu dans plusieurs vidéoclips et films dont « Ho Gayi Talli » du film de Bollywood Super Singh (2017) ayant plus de 29 millions de vues sur YouTube. Il a chorégraphié et joué pour certains des plus grands festivals de Montréal, dont Accès Asie, Taste of the Caribbean et Canada Pride. Son travail fut présenté localement et internationalement à Lisbonne, Dubaï, Mexico et New York, ainsi qu’à travers le Canada.

Le 9 juin 2019, Rameez a lancé sa nouvelle troupe, Veils of Bollywood, lors du 15e bal annuel des chorégraphes à Toronto, au Canada. Son contact à autant de différents styles de mouvement lui permet de créer en utilisant une vaste palette riche de nombreuses formes d’expression culturelle. Faisant partie de la communauté musulmane ismaélienne, il intègre des éléments de spiritualité et d’illumination dans son travail. Sa formation la plus récente en danse contemporaine avec Stéphanie Decourteille lui a permis d’explorer davantage ce nouveau domaine du mouvement. Rameez continue à développer son propre style en utilisant ses diverses expériences de vie et ses inspirations quotidiennes. Il poursuit une licence en beaux-arts à l’Université Concordia de Montréal avec une majeure en danse contemporaine, spécialisée en création et chorégraphie.

Youtube

Instagram

Facebook

Image: Alex Choquette


En participant à cette offre en ligne, vous reconnaissez qu’il existe des risques physique inhérents à tout activité et acceptez de dégager le Studio 303 et ses employées et pigistes de toute responsabilité pour les blessures, quelle qu’en soit la cause, résultant de votre participation. Vous acceptez et assumez ainsi librement les risques liés à votre participation à cette activité. Veuillez noter que les membres du RQD habituellement couverts par la CNESST ne sont PAS couverts lors des activités en ligne. Merci de votre compréhension!