HTMlles / Pas d’apparat corps

POSTPONED — live broadcast

Pas d’apparat corps is a multidisciplinary and hybrid performance created for live streaming and incorporating dance, video, Super8 and music. A collaboration between Calla Durose-Moya (dance), Guillaume Vallée (video), Hazy Montagne Mystique (music), and Pulsatilla (music).

This collaborative project has as for objective the demonstration of the possible links between the physicalities of the body and analog video.

A dematerialization of the body – a media fragmentation

The work was developed as part of an artist residency at Studio 303, during the summer of 2020.


Calla Durose-Moya is an emerging artist practicing in performance and hybrid media and currently living and working in Toronto, Ontario. In the exploration of the materiality of mediums of both the body and ‘obsolete’ media, she explores the (im)possibilities of her identity, and the understanding that being queer, racialized, disabled, and a woman systematically impacts the way she is seen or ‘read’. By predominantly using scripts in her work, she is interested in the interplay between text, language, gesture, and its foundations in personal vs. political dichotomies. Lately, Calla has been most interested in examining themes of improvisation and scripting that manifest in choreographic forms. Calla’s practice, past and present, is focused on a dialogue between processes of the materiality of the medium, and the corporeality of presence. Calla’s current work extends her media work’s exploration of improvisation and scripting by examining these phenomena as choreographic forms. Even in Calla’s former media practice, her work was evolving in an inherently performative direction. Her current choreographic research is involved in meditations that account for the influence on a body living between domestic/private spaces and geographical urban environments.
calladurosemoya.com

Chittakone Baccam / Hazy Montagne Mystique is an experimental musician who devotes himself to composition, installation and performance. He is of Laotian / Thai Dam origin and the influence of his culture is very important in his research. His musical training was for a long time self-taught and he is active in the experimental music scene in Montreal. He is constantly looking for new sounds and active communication with his collaborators. He has presented his work in performance across Canada, the United States, Japan, France, Belgium, Amsterdam, Italy and Austria.

Experimental filmmaker and video artist,  Guillaume Vallée graduated from Concordia University with a Major in Film Animation and MFA in Studio Arts – Film Production option. He’s interested in alternative forms of moving images in analogue forms as a way of considering the direct interaction between different mediums. His work is an exploration of materiality within the creative process. In attempts of creating a more complex relationship with his subject matter, Vallée makes use of cross-medium forms that range from camera-less techniques to optical effects, glitch, video feedback, resulting in expended & hybrid pieces. He works mainly on Super8, 16mm and VHS. His audiovisual performances  have been shown in various festivals in Canada, USA, France, Italy and Japan and his experimental films and videos, distributed by Vidéographe and Winnipeg Film Group, have been screened internationally. Guillaume Vallée has been an artist-in-residence at La Bande Vidéo (Quebec, Canada) in 2017 and at Le Fresnoy – studio national des arts contemporains (Tourcoing, FR) & Signal Culture (Owego, USA) in 2018. He’s currently an artist-in-residence at Main Film, part of the Film Factory program (2019-2020).
https://www.gvallee.com/

In Lisa Teichmann’s (Pulsatilla) musical compositions, organic sounds merge with thick, dark drones, combining electronic and classical instruments with field recordings. The emerging soundscapes make audible tensions between the opposing forces in nature: the comforting forest sounds juxtaposed to radio waves or the human heartbeat pervading tape loops. She is a classically trained flute player and her artistic practice consists of playing and recording instruments and sounds, then synthesizing these audio tracks into MIDI pads with which she improvises and composes. In her live performances, she layers recorded sounds on top of atmospheric pads, flute and organ improvisation to achieve organic, deep and natural soundscapes. She organizes monthly jams with Montreal-based artists to provide an open, safe and diverse environment for free artistic expression. She is a host on LoSignal on CKUT 90.3 FM and released her music on DMT records and Jeunesse Cosmique.
 

Studio 303’s accessibility – Consult this page for detailed information.

HTMlles / Pas d’apparat corps

REPORTÉ – transmission en direct

Pas d’apparat corps est une œuvre multidisciplinaire et hybride, créée pour le streaming et incorporant danse, vidéo, Super8 et musique. Une collaboration entre Calla Durose-Moya (danse), Guillaume Vallée (vidéo) et Hazy Montagne Mystique (musique).

Ce projet a comme objectif processuel la démonstration des liens possibles entre les pratiques et les physicalités singulières du corps et de la vidéo analogique.

Une dématérialisation du corps – une fragmentation médiatique.

L’œuvre a été développée dans le cadre d’une résidence de création au Studio 303, durant l’été 2020. 
Cet événement est présenté dans le cadre du festival HTMlles (htmlles.net)


Calla Durose-Moya est une artiste émergente en performance et médias hybrides et vit et travaille actuellement à Toronto, en Ontario. Dans l’exploration de la matérialité des médiums du corps et des médias « obsolètes », elle explore les (im) possibilités de son identité et la compréhension qu’être queer, racisée, handicapée et une femme a systématiquement un impact sur la façon dont elle est perçue ou « lue ». Elle s’intéresse à l’interaction entre le texte, la langue, le geste et ses fondements dans les dichotomies personnelles et politiques. La pratique de Calla est centrée sur un dialogue entre les processus de matérialité du médium et la corporéité de la présence. Sa recherche actuelle est une prolongation de son travail médiatique sur l’improvisation et la scénarisation, en examinant ces phénomènes comme des formes chorégraphiques. Ses recherches chorégraphiques actuelles sont dans les méditations qui rendent compte de l’influence sur un corps vivant entre les espaces domestiques / privés et les environnements géographiques urbains. calladurosemoya.com

Chittakone Baccam / Hazy Montagne Mystique est un artiste sonore qui se consacre en composition, installation et performance. Il est d’origine laotienne / thaï dam et l’influence de sa culture est très importante dans sa recherche. Sa formation musicale fut longtemps autodidacte et il est actif dans la scène de musique expérimentale à Montréal. Il est constamment à la recherche de nouveaux sons et d’une communication active avec ses collaborateurs-collaboratrices. Il a présenté son travail en performance à travers le Canada, aux États-Unis, au Japon, en France, en Belgique, à Amsterdam, en Italie et en Autriche. https://hazymontagnemystique.bandcamp.com/

Cinéaste expérimental et artiste vidéo, Guillaume Vallée est diplômé de l’Université Concordia en cinéma d’animation et titulaire d’un MFA in Studio Arts – Film Production. Il s’intéresse à toutes formes alternatives de l’image en mouvement. Son travail fait usage de différentes techniques techno-artisanales en explorant la matérialité médiatique par des interventions directes, des manipulations optiques et de la distorsion analogique dans le but de créer des oeuvres hybrides et élargies. Il travaille principalement en Super8, 16mm et VHS. Ses performances audiovisuelles ont été présentées dans une multitude de festivals au Canada, aux États-Unis, en France, en Italie, au Japon et en Autriche et ses films et vidéos expérimentaux, en distribution chez Vidéographe et Winnipeg Film Group, ont été présentés internationalement. Guillaume Vallée a été artiste en résidence à La Bande Vidéo (Québec, Canada) en 2017 et à Le Fresnoy – studio national des arts contemporains (Tourcoing, FR) et Signal Culture (Owego, É-U) en 2018. Il est maintenant en résidence chez Main Film, dans le cadre de La Manufacture de Films (2019-2020). https://www.gvallee.com/

Dans les compositions musicales de Pulsatilla (Lisa Teichmann) les sons organiques fusionnent avec de doux drones roses pâles et jaunes, combinant des instruments électroniques et classiques avec des enregistrements sur le terrain. Le paysage sonore rend audible les tensions entre deux forces qui s’opposent : la juxtaposition du son réconfortant de la forêt aux ondes radiophoniques ou encore à un battement de cœuromniprésent. Dans ses performances, elles superpose des sons enregistrés au dessus de la nappe atmosphérique, à de la flûte et de l’orgue improvisés, pour obtenir un paysage sonore profond et naturel. Elle organise des jams mensuels à Montréal, pensés comme des espaces ouverts, sécuritaires et diversifiés, pour la liberté d’expression artistique. Enfin, elle est animatrice de LoSignal sur CKUT 90.3 FM.


Accessibilité du Studio 303 – Consultez cette page pour plus d’informations sur le service de garderie et l’accessibilité physique et financière de nos activités.