Photo credit: Sylvie Poitevin

ALANNA KRAAIJEVELD (MTL) — Inspire by Fighting Monkey

** FULL ** Sept. 14 to 18, 2020 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. (Mon.-Fri.)
$75 with the support of *Emploi-Québec (or $135, non-eligible rate)
Open to artists of all disciplines / Bilingual teacher
Capacity: 12 people

By registering for a workshop, you agree to cancel your participation if you have symptoms or suspect you may have COVID-19. Please read the Participant Engagement before registering. Thank you!

REGISTRATION IS MANDATORY: https://www.simplyk.io/ticketing/5f19926511a7260022c411f1

CONTENT // This class is comprised of form and task-based exercises that examine and test physical and creative possibilities. These exercises ask the participant to continuously meet something outside of themselves – an object, form, concept, context – and observe, reflect, and integrate feedback through practice. Each task presents a rigorous framework to stimulate creativity, adaptability, awareness, power and softness.

Foundational elements from Fighting Monkey Practice will be offered, namely FM Zero Forms, FM Abstract Tools, and FM Coordinations. Elaborations based on Kraaijeveld’s research, improvisation and performance experience will be included.

Play, problem solving, and creativity will support examination of relationship between the individual and other objects and stresses in unpredictable environments. New pathways to learn, understand, and to define what is important will be prioritized, and each participant is expected to take responsibility for individual learning and work given this imperative.

BIO // Alanna Kraaijeveld is a contemporary dance artist.  Her approach to movement practice and performance is centered on context driven, collaborative practices. Kraaijeveld has over 15 years experience and continues to be a sought-after collaborator in the performing arts milieu.  As performer, teacher and creator, her collaborations are numerous: Company 605, École supérieure d’art dramatique (Paris), Justine Chambers, Yves Charuest, Modus Operandi, Marie Claire Forté, Studio 303, Vim Vigor, Sarah Chase, Stella Adler Studio of Acting (NYC), Opéra de Québec, William Parker, Susanna Hood, Louise Bédard, Frédérick Gravel, Elizabeth Langley, among others. She toured internationally with Dave St-Pierre, in productions Un peu de tendresse bordel de merde and Foudres.  From 2004-2008 she was a company dancer of Le Groupe Dance Lab under the artistic direction of Peter Boneham.  Le Groupe Dance Lab was an international centre for the research and development of contemporary dance.  Now ubiquitous in the contemporary arts milieu, the lab was one of the first of its kind, established in 1988.  Since 2015, Kraaijeveld is a student of Linda Kapetanea and Jozef Frucek, developers of Fighting Monkey Practice.  Kraaijeveld has a Master of Arts degree in Dance Pedagogy and has taught at institutions and organizations across Canada, in Europe, and the United States.  She represents Fighting Monkey as an *Inspire by FM instructor.  She shares her knowledge of movement across various communities including dance, theatre, sports, and at-risk youth.


HOW TO DETERMINE WHICH RATE TO PAY

All workshops are for professional performing artists. Some require advanced dance training. There is a regular rate, and a rate subsidized by Emploi-Québec.

Who has to pay the full rate (regular)?
– People residing outside of Montreal Island
– Full-time or foreign students

To benefit from the subsidized rate by Emploi-Québec, you must:
– Live on the island of Montreal (civic address)
– Be an artist or cultural professional
– Be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident or temporary foreign worker with a work permit (open or closed)

Are accepted: Part-time students, Employment Insurance (EI) or Income Assistance (IA) recipients (please notify your agent at Services Canada or MTESS).

Reimbursement policy – No reimbursement possible without a good reason (ex: sickness or injury).

Studio’s accessibility – Consult this page for detailed information.

Crédit photo : Sylvie Poitevin

ALANNA KRAAIJEVELD (MTL) — Inspire by Fighting Monkey

**COMPLET** 14 au 18 sept. 2020 9 h 30 à 12 h 30 (lun.-ven.)
75 $ avec le soutien d’Emploi-Québec (ou 135 $, prix non éligible)
Ouvert aux artistes de toute discipline / Professeure bilingue
Capacité : 12 personnes

En vous inscrivant à un atelier, vous vous engagez à annuler votre participation si vous avez des symptômes ou pensez être atteint de la COVID-19. Veuillez lire l’engagement des participant-es avant de vous inscrire. Merci!

INSCRIPTION OBLIGATOIRE : https://www.simplyk.io/ticketing/5f19926511a7260022c411f1

CONTENU // Cet atelier comprend des exercices de formes et d’autres basés sur des tâches qui étudient et testent les différentes possibilités physique et créatives. Ces danses exigent que les participant-es aillent constamment à la rencontre de quelque chose d’extérieur à eux – objet, forme, concept, contexte – et observent, réfléchissent et intègrent du feedback par la pratique. Chaque danse propose un cadre rigoureux qui stimule la créativité, l’adaptabilité, la conscience, la puissance et la douceur.

Des éléments essentiels de la pratique Fighting Monkey seront présentés : FM Zero Forms, FM Abstract Tools et FM Coordinations. On y abordera également des développements basés sur les propres recherches de Kraaijeveld et son expérience d’interprète et d’improvisatrice.

Le jeu, la résolution de problème et la créativité seront mis à contribution dans l’examen des rapports entre les individus, les objets et les facteurs de stress liés à des environnements imprévisibles. L’accent sera mis sur de nouvelles pistes pour l’apprentissage, la compréhension et la détermination de ce qui est important. Chaque participant-e sera responsable de son propre cheminement d’apprentissage et travail individuel.

BIO // Alanna Kraaijeveld est une artiste en danse contemporaine. Son approche est centrée sur les pratiques contextuelles et collaboratives. Avec plus de 15 ans d’expérience, Kraaijeveld est une collaboratrice recherchée dans le milieu des arts du spectacle. À titre d’interprète, enseignante et créatrice, ses collaborations sont nombreuses et diversifiées : Company 605, École supérieure d’art dramatique (Paris), Justine Chambers, Yves Charuest, Modus Operandi, Marie Claire Forté, Studio 303, Vim Vigor, Sarah Chase, Stella Adler Studio of Acting (NYC), Opéra de Québec, William Parker, Susanna Hood, Louise Bédard, Frédérick Gravel, Elizabeth Langley, parmi d’autres. Elle s’est produite en tournée avec Dave St-Pierre dans les productions Un peu de tendresse bordel de merde et Foudres. De 2004 à 2008, elle était membre du Groupe Dance Lab sous la direction artistique de Peter Boneham, un centre international de recherche et de développement en danse contemporaine. Une approche aujourd’hui très répandue dans le milieu de la danse, le Lab était un précurseur lors de sa création en 1988. Depuis 2015, Kraaijeveld étudie avec Linda Kapetanea et Jozef Frucek, qui signent la pratique Fighting Monkey. Kraaijeveld détient une maîtrise en arts en pédagogie de la danse et a enseigné dans divers établissements et organisations au Canada, en Europe et aux États-Unis. Elle représente Fighting Monkey à titre de formatrice *Inspire by FM. Elle partage son savoir et son expérience du mouvement dans les milieux les plus variés : danse, théâtre, sport et jeunes à risque.



COMMENT DÉTERMINER QUEL TARIF PAYER

Tous nos ateliers sont ouverts aux artistes professionnel-les de la scène. Certains nécessitent un niveau avancé en danse. Il existe un tarif régulier, et un tarif subventionné par Emploi-Québec.

Qui doit payer le plein tarif (régulier)?
– Les personnes habitant hors de l’île de Montréal
– Les étudiant-es à temps plein ou étranger-es

Pour bénéficier du tarif subventionné par Emploi-Québec, il faut:
– Habiter sur l’île de Montréal (adresse civique)
– Être un-e artiste ou professionnel-le de la culture
– Être citoyen-ne canadien-ne ou résident-e permanent-e ou travailleur-se étranger-e temporaire avec permis de travail (ouvert ou fermé)

Sont accepté-es : les étudiant-es à temps partiel et les prestataires de l’assurance-emploi ou de l’aide sociale (SVP avisez votre agent à Services Canada ou au MTESS)

Politique de remboursement – Aucun remboursement possible sans motivation valable (ex : maladie ou blessure).

Accessibilité du studio – Consultez cette page pour plus d’informations.