production

 

Once you have set your performance dates, take out a calendar and start scheduling immediately. Work backwards from the presentation date and include post-production tasks. The schedule will go through many changes, and eventually, you will detail the breakdown of each day in the theatre. A schedule is also helpful for working out a budget. Organize production time into pre-production, production, and post-production tasks.

  • Locating a venue, choosing a presentation date, finding dancers and collaborators, and working out a preliminary schedule and budget.

  • During the creation and rehearsal period, you create and then refine the piece in studio. Design elements may be constructed elsewhere while you work with fake or ‘working’ props. Consider using with production and design elements as early as possible as they inform the work.
  •  
  • Send out invitations 1-3 weeks before your premiere.
  • Prior to your presentation, bring the set and costumes into the theatre. Dancers should spend time on stage to get used to its dimensions and the floor surface.

  • A technical set-up time must be scheduled for the technicians to hang the lights on the grid according to the designer’s specifications, put in the proper gels and adjust light angles and focal points. This is called the ‘hang and focus’. They will set up the sound equipment at this time. Depending on the technical specifications of the space, this will take from two to twelve hours or even longer.

  • The setting of intensities or levels is when the lighting designer builds the cues (quality, content and timing) for the piece. She usually requires someone (a walker) to be on stage to see how the light looks on a body. The cue-to-cue (Q2Q) is a practice, for the benefit of the running crew (lights and sound), of all the transitions in the piece, and is a chance to make intensity adjustments. Depending how long the piece is and how prepared the lighting designer is, this should take from one to four hours

  • The dress rehearsal is a performance of the piece with all of its finished elements. It is done in full costume, in real time, and with full technical elements, but without a real audience. Do on-the-spot troubleshooting and leave time at the end to make necessary adjustments. You can invite a strategic audience to simulate the energy of a public performance.

  • The show begins opening night and ends closing night. The length of the run depends on the presenter, or in the case of self-presentation, your budget and the availability of the theatre. My dance performances in Montreal run for 2-4 performances.

  • The strike is the session during which the technicians, stage manager, and anyone who can help, take down the set, the lights, and clean out the theatre. Make sure to return borrowed or rented items in their original state.
  • Hold a postpartum meeting with those involved in order to get feedback in all aspects of the production.

  • Close your budget by paying all those who need to be paid and balancing the books.

  • If you received any grants, write your final report.

  • Send thank-you letters to any donors from a fundraising campaign, to the presenter (if you had one) and to any residency partners.

  • Follow-up with any presenters who may have come to see the show.

  • Finalize your video documentation, upload the full-length work, or selected excerpts to a platform like Vimeo or Youtube. Make sure collaborators receive a copy of the video as well.

  • In order to archive the piece, set aside a few physical copies of your poster, flyer and program, and remember to store this documentation properly. Organize digital files of photo documentation, and back them up. Download .pdfs of any pre-show press or reviews. Dance Collection Danse has a small, practical guide for archiving: Building Your Legacy: An Archiving Handbook for Dance.

 

Tip: Do not take too long to finish your post-production tasks, it can be easy to loose momentum after the performances are over, but these final steps are just as important as the rest of the process.

There is no set model for the roles and responsibilities involved in the creation and presentation of a dance piece. Although they can differ with every production, they must be clearly defined each time. The lists below include many possible situations. Obviously, in smaller productions, various players take on several different roles. You and your team have to work out how to divide the tasks. Know which person is wearing which hat, and when.

There are several major aspects to each dance production with various roles falling under each of these. The most important role is the production manager, who oversees and coordinates the entire production. The production manager works in liaison with the choreographer and the technical director organising production meetings, creating the production schedule, negotiating contracts, tending to all aspects of the venue, and managing a project budget and possibly even the bookkeeping.

Most emerging choreographers take on the role of production manager themselves. For a smaller project, this should not be a problem, but for a large or complex project you will need help!

i. Artistic

  1. The choreographer is the production’s artistic director; they creates the choreography and chooses collaborators.
  2. The dancer learns, creates, interprets and performs the work.
  3. Designers design the set, lighting, props, costumes, sound and video. They conceptualize,
    create and communicate the environment of the piece, and direct assistants such as carpenters, costume makers and musicians.
  4. The rehearsal director regularly attends rehearsals and helps the dancers clarify and perfect their movement; the outside eye gives feedback on the piece.
  5. The dramaturge supports the creative process through assisting research and development, possibly helping the audience to interpret and contextualize the work, as well as documenting and archiving it.

ii. Technical

  1. The technical director oversees all technical aspects of the production. Generally, a theatre has its own technical director, and your production team may or may not need another one.
  2. The technical crew is in charge of hanging and focusing the lights and speakers.
  3. The lighting and sound operators operate their respective control boards, cueing lights and sounds during the performance.
  4. The stage manager works backstage during the show doing everything from ‘calling’ the show to helping with costume changes, set transitions, and general technical assistance.

ii. Promotional

  1. The photographer takes photos.
  2. The press agent or publicist is responsible for media relations: soliciting previews and reviews of the show.
  3. The graphic designer creates the poster, flyer and program, and sometimes the press kit.
  4. The poster crew must be coordinated to do the distribution of posters and flyers.
  5. The videographer films the piece.

iv. Administrative

  1. In a dance company context, the general manager oversees all company operations, writes grants, deals with paperwork and plans, together with the artistic director (usually the choreographer), a strategy for the company’s long-term goals.
  2. The administrative assistant assists the general manager.
  3. The accountant or bookkeeper keeps track of expenses and revenues.
  4. The development agent seeks presenting opportunities for the work.

production

 

Une fois que vous avez défini vos dates de performance, créez un calendrier et démarrez la planification immédiatement. Travaillez à partir de la date de présentation et incluez les tâches de post-production. L’horaire passera par de nombreux changements et vous finirez par détailler la répartition de chaque journée sur le théâtre. Un horaire est également utile pour établir un budget. Organisez le temps de production en tâches de pré-production, de production et de post-production.

La première étape : trouver un lieu de diffusion, choisir les dates de représentation, former une équipe de danseurs et de collaborateurs, et produire un horaire et un budget préliminaires.

En création et en répétition, vous créez et peaufinez la pièce en studio. Les éléments de la conception peuvent être confectionnés ailleurs pendant que vous travaillez avec des accessoires d’appoint. Songez à intégrer les éléments de production dès que possible puisqu’ils informent le travail.

Envoyez vos invitations 1 à 3 semaines avant les performances.

Avant le spectacle, apportez le décor et les costumes au théâtre. Les interprètes devraient passer du temps sur scène pour s’habituer au plancher et aux dimensions de l’espace.

Prévoyez un temps de montage pour permettre aux techniciens d’accrocher les lumières sur la grille d’éclairage, selon les spécifications du concepteur. Ils installent également les gélatines et ajustent l’angle des lumières et les mises au point ; en anglais, cela s’appelle le « hang and focus ». Installez l’équipement de son en même temps. En fonction des particularités techniques de l’espace et de la complexité de la conception, le montage peut prendre entre deux et douze heures, ou même plus.

On appelle « intensités d’éclairages »la période où le concepteur construit un à un les cues (qualité, contenu et durée) pour la pièce. Idéalement, il travaille avec un crabe (une personne qui se promène sur scène) afin qu’il puisse voir l’effet que donne la lumière sur un corps. Le « cue-to-cue » est une répétition des transitions de la pièce pour l’équipe technique (son et éclairages). C’est aussi l’occasion pour eux d’ajuster les intensités, au besoin. Selon la durée de la pièce et la préparation du concepteur d’éclairages, cela peut prendre entre une et quatre heures.

La générale est une représentation de la pièce dans son ensemble. Elle est faite en temps réel, avec les costumes et tous les éléments techniques, mais sans vrai public. Prévoyez du temps à la fin de la générale pour faire des ajustements. Vous pouvez inviter un public stratégique à cette répétition pour simuler une énergie de spectacle.

Une série de spectacles commence avec la première et se termine par la dernière. La durée de la série dépend du diffuseur, ou dans le cas d’un auto-diffusion, de votre budget et de la disponibilité du théâtre. À Montréal, une série de spectacles de danse durent normalement entre 2 et 4 soirées.

Le démontage est la période durant laquelle les techniciens, le régisseur de scène, et toute autre personne disposée à vous aider démontent le décor et les lumières, et nettoient le théâtre. Assurez-vous de rendre tous les équipements empruntés ou loués dans le même état dont vous les avez reçus.

Faites un bilan avec votre équipe entière pour avoir du feedback sur tous les aspects de la production.

Réglez tous les comptes. Assurez-vous que tous-tes vos fournisseur-es et vos collaborateur-ices aient reçu leur paiement. Vérifiez que votre budget s’équilibre.

Si vous avez reçu des bourses, écrivez vos rapports finaux.

Envoyez des notes de remerciement à votre diffuseur-e, vos donateur-ices et/ou vos autres partenaires.

Faites un suivi avec des diffuseur-es qui sont venu-es voir votre spectacle.

Réalisez le montage de votre captation vidéo. Téléchargez une version intégrale ou des extraits sur Vimeo ou Youtube. N’oubliez pas d’envoyer un lien à vos interprètes et concepteur-ices.

Pour vos archives, mettez de côté quelques affiches, affichettes et programmes du spectacle et conservez-les avec soin. Recueillez toutes les photos, coupures de journaux, extraits télévisuels et entrevues radiophoniques. Dance Collection Danse publie un petit guide pour l’archivage (en anglais) : Building Your Legacy: An Archiving Handbook for Dance.

Conseil : Ne tardez pas pour accomplir vos tâches de postproduction. Après le spectacle, c’est facile de perdre de l’initiative, mais ces étapes finales sont importantes.

Il n’y a pas de recette pour les rôles et responsabilités compris dans la création et la présentation d’une pièce de danse. Ils peuvent varier d’une production à l’autre, mais doivent être clairement définis chaque fois. Pour une petite production, divers joueurs ont évidemment à porter plusieurs chapeaux. C’est à vous et à votre équipe de déterminer comment répartir les tâches. Faites attention à ne pas empiéter sur les rôles de chacun.

Il y a quatre aspects fondamentaux de la production en danse et chacun regroupe plusieurs rôles. Le ou la directeur-rice de production supervise et coordonne l’entière production ; c’est le rôle le plus important. Cette personne travaille en étroite collaboration avec le ou la chorégraphe et le ou la directeur-rice technique. Cette personnes organise les réunions, fixe le calendrier de production, négocie les contrats, prend en charge tout ce qui a trait au lieu de diffusion et gère le budget et possiblement la comptabilité.

De nombreux-euses chorégraphes émergent-es assurent leur propre direction de production, ainsi qu’un bon nombre des autres rôles énumérés ci-dessous.

i. L'aspect artistique

  1. Le ou la chorégraphe est responsable de la direction artistique de la production, de la création et du choix des collaborateurs.
  2. Le ou la danseur-euse apprend, crée et interprète la chorégraphie.
  3. Les concepteurs-rices sont responsables de la scénographie, des éclairages, des accessoires, des costumes, du son et de la vidéo. Ils ou elles conceptualisent, créent et communiquent l’univers de la pièce, et sont parfois responsables des assistant-es, comme des menuisiers, des couturiers ou des musiciens.
  4. Le ou la répétiteur-rice assiste régulièrement aux répétitions et aide les interprètes à clarifier et à peaufiner leur travail
  5. L’œil extérieur donne du feedback sur l’ensemble de la pièce.
  6. Le ou la dramaturge soutient le processus créatif en appuyant la recherche et le développement. Cette personne fait parfois la médiation avec le public, et aide à la documentation et à l’archivage de l’œuvre.

ii. L’aspect technique

  1. Le ou la directeur-rice technique supervise tous les aspects techniques de la production. Généralement, chaque théâtre a son propre directeur-rice technique, et vous n’avez pas forcément à en avoir un.
  2. L’équipe technique installe les lumières et les règles (« focus »), et installe aussi les haut-parleurs.
  3. À partir de leur console respective, les régisseurs d’éclairages et de son déclenchent les cues de lumière et de son pendant le spectacle.
  4. Le ou la régisseur de plateau travaille en coulisse pendant le spectacle, appelle les cues, aide aux changements de costume et de décor et fournit une assistance technique générale.

iii. Promotion

  1. Le ou la photographe prend des photos.
  2. Le ou la responsable des communications fait les relations de presse : cette personne s’assure que le spectacle est médiatisé par des pré-papiers et des critiques.
  3. Le ou la graphiste crée l’affiche, l’affichette et le programme, et parfois le dossier de presse.
  4. L’équipe de distribution coordonne la distribution d’affiches et d’affichettes.
  5. Le ou la vidéaste enregistre la pièce.

iv. L’aspect administratif

  1. Dans les compagnies établies, le ou la directeur-rice général ou directeur-rice administratif-ve supervise le fonctionnement, rédige les demandes de subventions, s’occupe de l’administration et planifie, de concert avec la direction artistique (généralement le ou la chorégraphe), une stratégie pour les objectifs à long terme de la compagnie.
  2. L’assistant-e ou adjoint-e administratif-ve assiste la direction générale.
  3. Le ou la comptable fait la tenue des comptes.
  4. L’agent de développement cherche des occasions de diffusion.