Photo credit: Emily Gastineau

EMILY GASTINEAU

PROJECT // If everything is [an object] then I am too

What a mess. The smell of dust, burnt plastic, a slight rot. The room is thick with symbols and sentiment. Everything is rubbing up on everything else. I want this, I need this, this exact thing, it’s irreplaceable, oh god, I’m so embarrassed. Ring! Someone is calling on the banana phone. Hello?! Every prop tells you how to pick it up. Wallet, phone, keys, a match. The generic is something so pervasive that we become unable to see it. A concept is cheap. Break the bookshelf, chew on the splinters, spit it out. How will we know whose garbage to take home? You wrote me a love letter but you said it wasn’t personal. I don’t remember getting a script but I keep talking. Dance means it’s stolen. Dance means it’s right now. Recycling means it will be used. Recycling means it will come back around. We want to start over and start over and start over but there is no getting out.  

If everything is [an object] then I am too is a contemporary dance work that examines affective economies through the lens of the generic and the personal. The piece explores how feelings circulate, how value is produced through proximity, and how normativity is constructed through repetition.

BIO // Emily Gastineau is a choreographer, performer, and writer based in Minneapolis. Her work has been presented at Frascati (Amsterdam), On the Boards (Seattle), Garage29 (Brussels), Walker Art Center, Red Eye Theater, and Southern Theater (Minneapolis), among others. Her work with Billy Mullaney (US/NL) as part of the performance duo Fire Drill has been shown in Amsterdam, Minneapolis, St. Paul, New York, San Francisco, Portland, Philadelphia, Baltimore, and Chicago. She has developed collaborative works with Vilma Pitrinaite (LT/BE) and Samantha Johns (US). She has held residencies at workspacebrussels, SE.S.TA (Prague), Weisman Art Museum, and the Soap Factory (Minneapolis), and completed a master’s at DAS Choreography, Amsterdam University of the Arts in 2019. Emily is the editor of Mn Artists, an interdisciplinary arts writing publication of the Walker Art Center. She is one of seven artistic directors of Red Eye Theater, which is building out a new performance space in South Minneapolis using a collaborative leadership model.

www.emilygastineau.com

DETAILS //
Collaborators: Valerie Oliveiro, Anna Marie Shogren, Judith Holo Shuǐ Xiān
Support: Red Eye Theater, Minnesota State Arts Board, Foundation for Contemporary Arts, Franconia Sculpture Park, Studio 303, The Luminary, MOVO, Fresh Oysters Performance Research

Photo credit: Nellie de Boer

Photo credit: Megan Mayer

Crédit photo : Emily Gastineau

EMILY GASTINEAU

PROJET // If everything is [an object] then I am too

Quel bordel. Une odeur de poussière, de plastique brûlé, une légère pourriture. La pièce est remplie de symboles et de sentiments. Tout se frotte sur tout le reste. Je le veux, j’en ai besoin, c’est exactement ça, c’est irremplaçable, oh mon dieu, je suis si gêné-e. Dring ! Quelqu’un appelle sur le téléphone banane. Allô ? ! Chaque accessoire vous indique comment le ramasser. Un portefeuille, un téléphone, des clés, une allumette. Le générique est si présent qu’on ne le voit plus. Un concept est à rabais. Cassez l’étagère, mâchez les échardes, recrachez-les. Comment saurons-nous quelles ordures ramener à la maison ? Tu m’as écrit une lettre d’amour mais tu m’as dit que ce n’était pas personnel. Je ne me rappelle pas avoir reçu un script mais je continue à parler. La danse implique que c’est volé. La danse implique que c’est maintenant. Le recyclage implique que ce sera utilisé. Le recyclage implique que ça va revenir. Nous voulons recommencer, recommencer et recommencer, mais il n’y a pas moyen d’en sortir. 

If everything is [an object] then I am too est une œuvre de danse contemporaine qui examine les économies affectives à travers le regard du générique et du personnel. La pièce explore comment les sentiments circulent, comment la valeur est produite par la proximité et comment la normativité est construite à travers la répétition.

BIO // Emily Gastineau est une chorégraphe, interprète et écrivaine basée à Minneapolis. Son travail a été présenté entre autres à Frascati (Amsterdam), On the Boards (Seattle), Garage29 (Bruxelles), Walker Art Center, Red Eye Theater et Southern Theater (Minneapolis). Son travail avec Billy Mullaney (US/NL) dans le cadre du duo de performance Fire Drill a été présenté à Amsterdam, Minneapolis, St. Paul, New York, San Francisco, Portland, Philadelphie, Baltimore et Chicago. Elle a développé des travaux en collaboration avec Vilma Pitrinaite (LT/BE) et Samantha Johns (US). Elle a effectué des résidences à workspacebrussels, SE.S.TA (Prague), Weisman Art Museum, et Soap Factory (Minneapolis), et a complété une maîtrise à DAS Choreography, Amsterdam University of the Arts en 2019. Emily est la rédactrice en chef de Mn Artists, une publication d’écriture artistique interdisciplinaire du Walker Art Center. Elle est l’une des sept directeur-trices artistiques du Red Eye Theater, qui construit un nouvel espace de performance dans le sud de Minneapolis en utilisant un modèle de leadership collaboratif.

www.emilygastineau.com

DÉTAILS //
Collaborateur-trices : Valerie Oliveiro, Anna Marie Shogren, Judith Holo Shuǐ Xiān
Soutien : Red Eye Theater, Minnesota State Arts Board, Foundation for Contemporary Arts, Franconia Sculpture Park, Studio 303, The Luminary, MOVO, Fresh Oysters Performance Research

Crédit photo : Nellie De Boer

Crédit photo : Megan Mayer